Research Guides: Latin American History: 2. Background Information

Step 2 - Finding Background Information

Like the roots of a tree, background information is not always visible but it does play an important role in your research.

Starting research often means finding an overview of a topic, checking facts and data, checking dates of significant events, or looking up definitions of specialized terms. Reference books can give background information, including the scope of the topic area, noteworthy people, and statistics to help jumpstart your research.

Primary, Secondary & Tertiary Sources (Video Tutorial)

Check out this video from Suffolk County Community College Library to understand how primary, secondary, and tertiary sources vary by discipline.

Background Info/Reference Databases - General Subjects

Before you Start...

Before you start any research on your topic, you must develop some background knowledge including facts, dates, and names of important people, places, or theories. Books and websites can provide you with that knowledge.

This is important because:

Background sources give you the language that people are using to discuss your topic. You will use this language (look for keywords!) when you start to search databases for scholarly articles and resources on the topic.
This "pre-research" gives you a sense if your topic is focused enough. If your initial searches bring back so many results you can't even figure out what the language is, then you should consider narrowing your topic.

Remember, background information is always a starting point for research, not an ending point.

General Reference Databases (library subscription resources)

Gale e-books This link opens in a new window If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem. Online histories, encyclopedias, almanacs, data compilations, works of literary analysis, and other reference sources owned by the UO Libraries.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Language and subject dictionaries and reference works
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
Gale in context. Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem. Full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues. Provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, interactive maps, infographics, & more.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window National record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.

Open Web (Free) Resources

Wikipedia
Yes, it is OK to use Wikipedia for background information, but never cite to it. And only use it as a starting point.
Oxford Bibliographies
Some of this content is locked. Contact a Subject Librarian for help accessing information.
Encyclopedia Britannica
Britannica makes many encyclopedia articles freely available to the public. Some content is restricted to a subscription.

Using Wikipedia for Research (Infographic)

(Click to Enlarge Image)

Long description of "Using Wikipedia for Research" for web accessibility

In addition to being a great place to start exploring an unfamiliar topic, Wikipedia is considered a tertiary source. Writers of tertiary sources synthesize information from secondary sources and strive to report them in a tone that is as unbiased and neutral as possible.

Some tertiary sources are cited in academic research and others are not. This practice varies by discipline so contact your instructor or a librarian with questions!

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Step 2: Pause to Reflect

What is considered background information can vary by discipline. If you're not sure what it is or where to find it, check out this YouTube video on primary, secondary, and tertiary sources from Suffolk County Library.

Are you citing background information in your research paper/project? You can always check with your instructor to see if that is acceptable for the assignment or within your discipline/major.