Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Latin American History

A guide for patrons researching the history of Latin America at the UO Libraries.

Primary Sources for Latin American History

These databases and web sites will help you to track down primary source materials about the history of Latin America.

Digital Collections of Mesoamerican Materials

These free online databases provide access to digitized images of Mesoamerican codices (folded books) from the pre-Colombian and early colonial era.

Digital Collections of Modern Latin American Political Ephemera

Political ephemera includes posters, flyers, pamphlets, and other disposable materials produced by governments, NGOs, and social movements. Several organizations have made special efforts to preserve these materials, notably the Princeton University Library and the Library of Congress's Overseas Office in Rio de Janeiro. These materials provide unique insight into contemporary social, political, and cultural life in Latin America.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Undergraduate Engagement Librarian

Bronwen  Maxson's picture
Bronwen Maxson
Contact:
Pronouns: She/Ella/Ela

1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403
bmaxson@uoregon.edu
541-346-3069

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

About Special Collections and University Archives

Welcome to Special Collections and University Archives (SCUA)!

We are the principal repository for the University of Oregon’s historical research collections in all formats including manuscripts, printed books, maps, photographs, and prints.  The archives of the University of Oregon, including historic administrative records and personal papers of many faculty members, comprise a substantial part of the collections.  Overall, the department’s holdings include more than 20 thousand linear feet of manuscript collections.  Located in the north wing of the Knight Library, the Department is open to scholars and researchers regardless of institutional affiliation. Each year we see thousands of researchers who come to consult our resources. 

The archivists and librarians welcome the opportunity to help you with your research.

SCUA Hours

Please visit our website for current hours.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift