Research Guides: Journalism and Communication: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Once you've picked a topic, the following databases will help you find relevant academic and popular articles to assist you in your research.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage of periodicals and journals in advertising, marketing, and public relations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 mass media journals and offers the full text of about 230 of these.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
International business and general publications including the Wall Street Journal and New York Times.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
A directory of free on-line journals in media and communications.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Indexes the core U.S. and U.K. magazines in film, television, music, and theater.
Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contains the complete text of articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 1500 periodicals in the social sciences.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.