Research Guides: Historical Performance Practice: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to Historical Performance Practice

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on the history, terminology, and important figures in Historical Performance Practice. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart : allgemeine Enzyklopädie der Musik by Ludwig Finscher, begründet von Friedrich Blume
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .M92 1994
Publication Date: 1994-2007
Musical Morphology: A Discourse and a Dictionary by Siegmund Levarie; Ernst Levy
Call Number: ML108.L48 1983
Publication Date: 1983
A Dictionary of Early Music by Jerome Roche; Elizabeth Roche
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100.R695
Publication Date: 1981
An Early Music Dictionary by Graham Strahle (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML108 .S88 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Biographisch-bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musiker und Musikgelehrten der christlichen Zeitrechnung bis zur Mitte des neunzehnten Jahrhunderts by Robert Eitner
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML105 .E36 1947
Publication Date: 1947
Terminorum Musicae Index Septem Linguis Redactus (Polyglot dictionary of musical terms: English, German, French, Italian, Spanish, Hungarian, Russian) by Horst Leuchtmann; International Association of Music Libraries Staff (Contribution by); International Musicological Society Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML108.T4
Publication Date: 1978-01-01

Oxford Companion to Music (online)
This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I currently work on campus on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and work remotely on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. I am available for in-person research consultations on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and for virtual consultations (via Zoom, Teams, or phone) on any weekday.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music