Research Guides: Historical Performance Practice: Bibliographies & Research Guides

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Bibliographies & Research Guides for Historical Performance Practice Topics

The following publications can help you find other articles, books, and additional resources for your research related to Historical Performance Practice.

An Index to Early Music in Selected Anthologies by Ruth B. Hilton
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML116 .H54
Publication Date: 1978
Bibliografia della musica strumentale italiana stampata in Italia fino al 1700 by Claudio Sartori
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML120.I8 S3
Publication Date: 1952-68
Bibliography of Italian instrumental music printed in Italy before 1700
Bibliothek der gedruckten weltlichen Vocalmusik Italiens aus den Jahren 1500-1700: Enthaltend die Litteratur der Frottole, Madrigale, Canzonette, Arien, Opern, etc. by Emil Vogel
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML120.I8 V8 1962
Publication Date: 1962
Bibliography of secular Italian vocal music printed between 1500 and 1700: containing frottolas, madrigals, canzonettas, arias, operas, etc.
Instrumental Music Printed Before 1600: A Bibliography by Howard Mayer Brown
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.I65 B77
Publication Date: 1965
Performance Practice by Mary Vinquist; Neal Zaslaw
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.L3 V55 1971
Publication Date: 1971
Performance Practice, Medieval to Contemporary: A Bibliographic Guide by Roland Jackson
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML128.P235 J3 1988
Publication Date: 1987

Browse the books with ML134 call numbers in the Music Reference Collection to find research guides about specific composers. This call number area also contains thematic catalogs for specific composers, which can provide useful information about the sources and publication history for all known works by that composer. The titles below represent examples of these types of books, but there are many more in the library than are listed here.

An Introduction to Bach Studies by Daniel R. Melamed; Michael Marissen
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B1 M45 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Thematisch-systematisches Verzeichnis der musikalischen Werke von Johann Sebastian Bach : Bach-Werke-Verzeichnis (BWV) by Wolfgang Schmieder
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.B1 S3 1990
Publication Date: 1990
A Thematic Locator for the Works of Jean-Baptiste Lully by Bruce Gustafson; Matthew Leshinskie
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.L88 A2 1989
Publication Date: 1989
Antonio Vivaldi: A Guide to Research by Michael Talbot
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML134.V7 T34 1988
Publication Date: 1988

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music