Research Guides: Global Health: Background Information

Reference Sources

The following reference sources can help you identify a topic for your research, provide an overview of a specific issue or topic, and suggest other materials which might be useful for your research.

All of the sources listed below are available online.
The first-listed encyclopedia covers a wide range of relevant topics and may be a good first choice:

International Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2009
Authoritative and comprehensive source of information on the discipline of human geography and its constituent, and related, subject areas.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
ISBN: 1135236402
Publication Date: 2010
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
ISBN: 0028657748
Publication Date: 2004
Excellent introduction to bioethical issues. Topics covered include: allocation of healthcare resources, health policy in international perspective, fertility control, and much, much more.
Environmental Toxicology
ISBN: 9781461457640
Publication Date: 2013
Environmental Toxicology provides a detailed, comprehensive introduction to this key area of sustainability and public health research.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (6th Ed.) by Gale Research Inc
ISBN: 0028666585
Publication Date: 2020
""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--
Global Social Issues: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012

Coronavirus/COVID-19 Government and IGO Sources

CDC Coronavirus (COVID19) information site

Coronavirus resources from Benefits.gov

Oregon Health Authority Coronavirus (COVID19) information site

Oregon Governor Kate Brown -- get the latest information on COVID-19 and reopening Oregon

Oregon Senator Jeff Merkley also has created a Coronavirus Resource Page
Congressman Peter DeFazio's COVID-19 Resources page provides information on the CARES Act--direct payments, unemployment, student loan debt relief, etc.

Oregon State Library: COVID-19 Information for Oregon Libraries

Lane County Health Authority Coronavirus information site

World Health Organization (WHO) Coronavirus

United Nations COVID-19 Working Papers and other Publications

Coronavirus Pandemic: Reliable Government Sources