Review articles (or literature reviews) are a great way to get an overview of a research area, with many references to scholarly and research articles. Review articles undergo peer-review and thus qualify as scholarly articles.
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences
The Annual Review journals are a good source of review articles. Web of Science (see middle column) is also good: do your search and then limit your results to reviews on the left side.
To look for articles in journals, newspapers, or magazines, you will need to start with a database. A database will allow you to look by subject or a few keywords which describe your topic or by author.
Highly recommended databases:
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.
Other/specialized databases that may be useful:
Scholarly articles & other sources in the fields of anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore and more.
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.
Journals in medical disciplines with a concentration on nursing and allied health
Collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers, covering a wide range of medical topics. This Spanish language database contains the complete table of contents and PDF full text for 140 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish. A wide range of topics are covered including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
