Research Guides: Getting Started with Library Research: An Overview of the Process: 1. Your Question

Starting with a research question means approaching your research with curiosity and an open mind. You should let your question guide you both in practical terms of helping you come up with search terms (keywords) as well as in avoiding bias by assuming you know the outcome or answer.

Check out this tutorial from Arizona State Libraries to get started:

Developing a Research or Guiding Question

Choosing Your Topic is Research (Video Tutorial)

Watch this short video from NC State University Libraries about choosing a research topic.

Getting Started with Research - Choosing a Topic

Getting Started

Make sure you understand your assignment (Link to UNC video tutorial about understanding assignments). Talk to your professor or graduate assistant if you have any questions.
Think about your interests. What would you like to spend time learning more about? Look over your course materials and lecture notes for ideas. Write down a list of keywords and phrases that interest you.
Use a topic ideas database such as CQ Researcher or Opposing Viewpoints in Context (links below). Read current periodicals, browse the internet, and check out reference resources and encyclopedias such as Gale e-books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library).

Databases to help you get started

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window Reports, summaries, and pro/con views on a range of current issues,1923-present
Gale in context. Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem. Full-text resource covering today's hottest social issues. Provides pro and con viewpoint articles, reference articles that provide context, magazines, academic journals, newspapers, primary source documents, statistics, interactive maps, infographics, & more.
Gale e-books This link opens in a new window If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem. Online histories, encyclopedias, almanacs, data compilations, works of literary analysis, and other reference sources owned by the UO Libraries.

Tips

Be careful not to pick a topic too narrow or too broad. You might not be able to find enough relevant information or you might be overwhelmed with too much information. As you start your research, you might need to adjust your topic.
Check out the Research Guide for your subject area, which will include links to helpful resources commonly used by researchers. Our subject specialist librarians create these guides -- contact yours with questions and to get personalized help with your research.

From Topic to Question (Infographic)

This graphic emphasizes how reading various sources can play a role in defining your research topic.

(Click to Enlarge Image)

Text description of "From Topic to Question" for web accessibility

Brainstorming Keywords (Infographic)

(Click to Enlarge Image)

You will need to use keywords to search for information online and in library resources. Follow this guidance to identify keywords that will be useful for searching.

Text description of "Brainstorming Keywords" for web accessibility

Selecting the Right Number of Keywords (Video Tutorial)

Check out the video from Kimbel Library to help you locate scholarly journal articles in library databases.

Selecting the Right Number of Keywords

The video is licensed under a Creative Commons (CC) BY-NC-ND 3.0 license: http://tinyurl.com/2t9all

Pause to Reflect

Step one not only requires that you come up wth a research question or topic that is narrow enough to explore for an undergraduate research paper, but it also requires that you consider what type of information you will need to find in order to answer your research question.

Is your topic so large you could write a whole book or PhD dissertation on it? If so, you should try to narrow your topic down to something manageable within the time you have and the number of pages or words your instructor is requiring.
Is your topic so specific that you can't find information about it? Go to step 3 to learn how to search more strategically and broaden your search out a bit.
Do you need some basic facts, dates, or names of historical people or specific theories? If so, go on to step 2: Find Background Information.
When you are ready, go to step 3 to learn how and where to search for information on your topic.

Mount Hood reflected in Mirror Lake, Oregon, USA. Image in Public Domain.

Getting Started with Library Research: An Overview of the Process

Need Help?

Where to get Ideas

Understanding Assignments (Video Tutorial)