Geocoding

Links to the United States Board on Geographic Names web site, whose purpose is to establish and maintain uniform geographic name usage throughout the United States Federal Government. From this linked web page you can link to further databases that will allow you to search domestic place names with the Geographic Names Information System or international place names using the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency's GEOnet Names Server. You can also link to web pages where you can download domestic place names and search Antarctic place names.

This web site, operated by the United States National Geospatial Intelligence Agency (NGA), provides access to the GEOnet Names Server. The server is the official repository of standard spellings of all foreign geographic names, sanctioned by the United States Board on Geographic Names. The database also contains variant spellings and non-Roman script spellings, which are useful for locating purposes. All geographic features in the database contain information about location, administrative division, and quality.

Links to the United States Geographic Names Information System, operated by the United States Geological Survey. The system is a query database of domestic names and locations for The United States and its territories.

The GeoNames database covers all countries and contains over eleven million place names that are available for download free of charge. The GeoNames project is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.

Links to a database of the world's cities and towns built using data from the United States Geological Survey, United States Census Bureau, and NASA. The free basic version has approximately thirteen thousand entries you can download and search in a CSV file. You can also purchase CSV files downloaded from the database with larger number of entries.