Research Guides: Finance: Data & Analysis

Lundquist-Based Resources

Bloomberg Terminals

There are four Bloomberg terminals located in the LCB CoLab in the Chiles building that are available to all UO members. Additional terminals are being added in the Cameron Center during the Spring 2025 term.

Morningstar Direct

The Cameron Center provides access to Morningstar through its facility in the Lundquist College of Business.
Access is limited to lab users, faculty, and authorized members of student-run investment funds.

For information on accessing these resources, please contact Derek Nalle, Program Manager, Cameron Center for Finance and Securities Analysis.

Databases

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Overview of stocks, bonds, and other securities for U.S. public companies and major foreign public companies. Information provided includes number of shares of preferred and/or common stock, the par value of each, ratings, earnings and dividends per share, call prices, annual price ranges, dividends, rights, initial offerings, and dividend reinvestment plan information. The "Capital Stock" subsection, under the "Company Details" tab, chronicles share capital details and dividends paid that are needed for tax purposes.
To find current stock analysis and recommendations:
1. Search for your company
2. Select the “Reports” Tab
3. Select “Equity Reports”
Mergent market atlas This link opens in a new window
Provides U.S. and international public company information based on name, location, industry, etc. Additional company search criteria allow you to explore sustainability, SEC filings, annual reports, independent research and company reports.

WRDS - Wharton Research Data Service
WRDS provides access to selected datasets in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing, and public policy. Subscriptions include Compustat Capital IQ and CRSP.
WRDS access is limited to faculty, staff, and graduate students.
Click "More" for registration information.
more...less...
1. On the WRDS homepage, click "Register" in the upper-right corner of the screen.
2. Register using your @uoregon.edu email address and click "Register."
3. Your registration request will be forwarded to LCB for authorization.

The WRDS services are for academic and non-commercial research purposes only. Users may not use data downloaded from the WRDS database for any non-academic or commercial endeavor.

PitchBook This link opens in a new window
Login process changed 10/31/24 - To access this resource, click the “Log in with SSO” option and use your @uoregon email address to sign in. VPN is no longer necessary.
Pitchbook features real time data to research and analyze companies, PE & VC deals, funds, investors, and service providers across the entire private investment lifecycle.
Pitchbook is available to current UO faculty, students, and staff.
Note: Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an Excel file). Account access will automatically reset annually on June 30.
Contact Genifer Snipes, gsnipes@uoregon.edu, for more information.
Paid for in cooperation with the Lundquist Center for Entrepreneurship.

S&P Capital IQ
S&P Capital IQ provides live data and the actual capabilities that are used daily in the markets and on Wall Street. It includes financial data, analytics, and research as well as many specific databases that help quantify Executive Compensation, Capital Structure, Key Developments, and more.
CapIQ access is limited to M.S. Finance students and members of UO Student-Managed Investment Funds
Click "More" link for registration information.
more...less...
1. Navigate to the Capital IQ website while on a campus network or logged into the VPN.
2. Click ‘New User?’ (at the top of the page) and submit your uoregon.edu email address.
3. Click "Unlock Account."
4. Register using your @uoregon.edu email address and click "Submit."
5. Follow the emailed instructions to unlock your account and set a new password.

Market Data

Dow Jones Indexes
Provides current and historical data for a wide variety of Dow Jones indices as well as the Barron's 400.
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA)
Market data on equities, options, and a wide range of bonds.
Interest Rates - FRED
Features current interest rates for mortgages, auto loans, certificates of deposit, money market and checking accounts, treasury bills, and more.
International Commodity Prices - FAOSTAT
With some records going back to 1980, the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization offers a useful tool for tracking commodity markets over time.
NASDAQtrader.com
Shows daily market statistics for the current year and monthly data back to 1997.
WSJ Markets Data Center
U.S. and international stock indexes, currencies, commodity markets, etc.