Searchable facsimiles of all printed materials published in Great Britain between 1473 and 1700, and materials published elsewhere in the world in English during the same period.
Materials include books, tracts, pamphlets, advertisements, ballads, rhymes, and other ephemera. The database continues to develop, with over 100,000 records currently included and increasing capabilities for direct keyword searching of the texts.
Digitized copies of significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, plays, and some secondary works.
HathiTrust offers a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
NCCO (Nineteenth Century Collections Online)
Digital collections now organized in a dozen separate topic modules, such as Asia and West Diplomacy & Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society, etc. For full list go to Databases A-Z on library's home page and follow instructions.
A collection of more than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera covering the history of this region from the 16th to the early 20th century.
Collection of about 300 Middle English primary texts. Provides a publicly accessible, cross-searchable sampling of Middle English from a widely diverse range of genres, times, and places.
Primary source material from American, French, Dutch, Spanish, Portuguese, German and British sources offering perspective on colonial history, politics, culture and society. Also includes documents from Africa, India and North America.
Access to federal documents relating to African-American history and social movements. Includes material from different Presidential administrations, the FBI, and federal agencies such as the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights.
A collection of poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more from scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
Wright American Fiction is a full-text collection of nearly 3,000 works of American Fiction spanning the period from 1851-1875, many of which are otherwise difficult to find.
A leading newspaper for the black community in the United States during the 20th century.
The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
General newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women's rights groups, labor groups, the Confederacy, and others.
Oregon Digital provides discovery of and access to unique digitized and born-digital materials, including photographs, articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera, and more.
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
Eight Centuries is a database covering source material dating from 1106 until 1960, aggregating indexes, catalogs, collections, and other finding aids. It provides access to articles, newspapers, books, U.S. patents, government documents, and images, with links to full-text where available.
Descriptions of primary sources in the Northwestern United States, including correspondence, diaries, or photographs. Digital reproductions of primary sources are available in some cases.
Includes synopses and critical evaluations of a comprehensive selection of English-language and world literature that has been translated into English. With annotated bibliographies to aid readers in further study.
Open Access books from various University Press publishers and providers, currently including all books belonging to the Knowledge Unlatched collection.
Oxford Bibliographies in American Literature provides “reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative” guidance to the secondary literature on a wide range of authors, genres, topics, and movements in the field.
Oxford Bibliographies in British and Irish Literature provides “reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative” guidance to the secondary literature on a wide range of authors, genres, topics, and movements in the field.
Oxford Bibliographies in Victorian Literature provides “reliable, up-to-date, and authoritative” guidance to the secondary literature on a wide range of authors, genres, topics, and movements in the field.
Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present, including books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755.
National record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. Concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
