Research Guides: e-Asia Digital Library: Content Types

Maps

There are many good map sites on the Web; two of the most notable are:

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 18,460 maps online.

Many of the maps on e-Asia are the byproduct of book and text scanning.

Maps of China

General Maps

China 1942 -- FROM: A Pocket Guide to China. Washington: War and Navy Departments, 1942; pp. 36-37.

Historical

A Map Showing the Divisions of China During the Period Described in the Spring and Autumn Annals. FROM: Pott, F.L. Hawks. A Sketch of Chinese History. 4th ed., revised. Shanghai: Kelly and Walsh, 1923. [faces page 22]
A Map of China During the Period of the Three Kingdoms. FROM: Pott, F.L. Hawks. A Sketch of Chinese History. 4th ed., revised. Shanghai: Kelly and Walsh, 1923. [faces page 42]

Military

Warlords 1925 --- source: US Military Academy, History Department.

Nationalist China, 1928-1937 --- source: US Military Academy, History Department.

China, 1941 --- Chinese Territory Seized Prior to July 1937 and Major Japanese Drives in 1937. Source: US Military Academy, History Department.

Communist Offensives, April-October 1949 -- source: US Military Academy, History Department.

Political

Anhui Province [1927] --- .pdf file --- On page 25 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Fengtian Province [1927] --- .pdf file ---- On page 55 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Fujian Province [1927] --- .pdf file --- On page 15 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Fukien [Fujian] (xian boundaries) ---- FROM: The Christian Occupation of China: a General Survey of the Numerical Strength and geographical distribution of the Christian Forces in China Made by the Special Committee on Survey and Occupation China Continuations Committee, 1918-1921. Edited by Milton T. Stauffer. Shanghai: China Continuation Committee, 1922, p. 69.

Guangdong Province [1927] --- .pdf file ---- On page 5 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Guangxi Province [1927] --- .pdf file --- On page 8 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Guizhou Province [1927] --- .pdf file --- On page 13 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Henan Province [1927] --- .pdf file --- On page 45 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Thematic

Distribution of Moslems in China. --- FROM: The Christian Occupation of China: a General Survey of the Numerical Strength and geographical distribution of the Christian Forces in China Made by the Special Committee on Survey and Occupation China Continuations Committee, 1918-1921. Edited by Milton T. Stauffer. Shanghai: China Continuation Committee, 1922, p. 354.

Map of Railways in Manchuria and Their Connections [.pdf file] --- On page 85 of: Horatio B. Hawkins. Commercial Press Geography of China. Shanghai: Commercial Press, 1927.

Chinese Population 1872 (in the United States) [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
China - Precipitation 1983 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
China - Natural Vegetation 1967 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Web Resources

Hong Kong University of Science and Technology Antique Maps Database
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection：China Maps ---- Probably the oldest and the biggest collection of China maps on the web.
China Historical GIS --- An outstanding site!

Maps of Japan

General Maps

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection -- Japan Maps [external link]

Historical

Feudal Map of Japan Between 1564-73. FROM: Murdoch, James. A History of Japan: During the Century of Early Foreign Intercourse (1542-1651). Kobe: Office of the "Chronicle," 1903. [map faces p. 122]
Feudal Map of Japan Between 1573-83. FROM: Murdoch, James. A History of Japan: During the Century of Early Foreign Intercourse (1542-1651). Kobe: Office of the "Chronicle," 1903. [map faces p. 134]
Empire of Japan (October, 1942). FROM: Johannes Stoye, Japan an der Wende. Leipzig: Verlag von Felix Meiner, 1943. page 2.
Reference Map Regarding Treaty of Peace Between Russia and Japan, 1905 . Webster, Robert Grant. 1905. Japan: From the Old to the New. London: S.W. Partridge & Co. p.337

Thematic

Buddhist Temple of Ikegami FROM: Chamberlain, Basil Hall. Handbook for Travellers in Japan. 6th ed. London: John Murray, 1901. [map faces page 43]
Japan - Minerals from Map No. 78643 1971. [external link to Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Japan - Land Utilization from Map No. 78643 1971. [external link to Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

City/Region

Kyoto and Its Environs. FROM: Murdoch, James. A History of Japan. Vol 1: From the Origins to the Arrival of the Portuguese in 1542 A.D. New York: Greenberg, 1926.

Maps of South Korea

General Maps

Demilitarized Zone Area. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 211.

Historical

Korea During the Three Kingdoms Periodm Fifth to Sixth Centuries A.D. . FROM: United States. Library of Congress. South Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1992.; page 6.
Korean Penninsula: The Korean War: Principal Campaigns of the Korean War, 1950-1953. [United States Military Academy, History Department, 2007?]
South Korea: United Nations Offensive; Situation 26 September 1950 and Operations since 15 September. [United States Military Academy, History Department, 2007?]
South Korea: United Nations Offensive; Close-Up of Situation 26 September 1950 and Operations since 15 September. [United States Military Academy, History Department, 2007?]

Military

Deployment andof South Korean and United States Forces in South Korea, 1990. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. South Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1992. --- (page 282).

Political

Administrative Divisions of South Korea, 1990. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. South Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1992. --- (page xxii).

Thematic

Typhoon Map. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 211.
Korea [South] - Vegetation and Land Utilization from Map No. 501879 1973 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Transportation FROM: United States. Library of Congress. South Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1992. --- (page 180).
Korea [South] - Population from Map No. 501879 1973. [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

City/Region

Seoul --- U.S. Map Service,1946 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection] // very large map ///
Seoul 1946: Central --- U.S. Map Service,1946 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Seoul 1946: East --- U.S. Map Service,1946 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Seoul 1946: South --- U.S. Map Service,1946 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Maps of North Korea

General Maps

Demilitarized Zone Area. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 211.

Historical

The Deployment of Ground and Naval Forces in North Korea. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 230.

Political

North Korea, Administrative Divisions FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. xviii.

Thematic

Typhoon Map. FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 211.
Korea [North] - Land Utilization from Map No. 500773 [link to Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
Korea [North] - Population from Map No. 500773 1972 [link to Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
January and August Average Teperatures (Celsius). FROM: United States. Library of Congress. North Korea : A Country Study. Washington: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1981, p. 55.

City/Region

Pyongyang --- U.S. Map Service, 1946 [link to Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Maps of Taiwan

General Maps

Taiwan Maps at the Perry Casteneda Library, Map Collection, University of Texas

Historical

Taihoku-Matsuyama (Taipei) 1:10,000 1945 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Thematic

Botanical Map of North Formosa. FROM: Mackay, George Leslie. From Far Formosa: The Island, Its People and Missions. New York: Revell, 1896. [map faces p. 55]
Geological Map of North Formosa . FROM: Mackay, George Leslie. From Far Formosa: The Island, Its People and Missions. New York: Revell, 1896. [map faces p. 49]
Industrial Map of Formosa. FROM: Davidson, James. The Island of Formosa: Past and Present. London: Macmillan, 1903.. [map faces p. 370]

Other Maps

General Maps

Standard Time Zones of the World [2008?] [.pdf file --- Central Intelligence Agency]

Historical

"Line of Original Emigration to the Pacific Northwest Commonly Known as the Old Oregon Trail" from The Ox Team or the Old Oregon Trail
1852-1906 by Ezra Meeker. Fourth Edition 1907. [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]
American Colonies, 1775 Population Density. --- external link --- US Military Academy

Military

The Battle of Long Island, 27 August 1776. --- external link ---US Military Academy
Gettysburg National Military Park [Pennsylvania] (Battle Maps with Park Map) 1995 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Political

Asia [2008?] [.pdf file --- Central Intelligence Agency]
Political Map of the World, April 2008 [.pdf file --- Central Intelligence Agency]
Southeast Asia [2002?] [.pdf file --- Central Intelligence Agency]

Thematic

Physical Map of the World April 2008 [.pdf file --- Central Intelligence Agency].
Iraq - Land Utilization from Map No. 503930 1978 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

City/Region

Iowa City (topographic) original scale 1:24,000 U.S.G.S. 1983 [external link at: Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection]

Images

In the processing of scanning books, illustrations are also scanned. Some of these illustrations warrant increased attention and are scanned at a larger size expressly for uploading to e-Asia. On occasion, e-Asia will undertake an images project, but for the most part our focus is on text.

Images of China

People

Taoist Abbot. FROM: Bredon, Juliet and Igor Mitrophanow. The Moon Year.
Shanghai: Kelly & Walsh, 1927. [faces page 48]
Zhou Enlai 1924 [Xinhua]

Places

The Altar of Heaven. FROM:Bishop, Mrs. J.F. Chinese Pictures: Notes on Photographs Made in China. London: Cassell, 1900. p. 81
The Ancient Moslem Graveyard at Canton. FROM: Broomhall, Marshall. Islam in China: A Neglected Problem. London: Morgan & Scott, 1910 --- (image faces page 111).

Events

Japan and Britain watching over the "children," Korea and China. FROM: W. Petrie Watson. Japan: Aspects & Destinies. London: Grant Richards, 1904.
Theatricals at the Temple of a City God. FROM: Bredon, Juliet and Igor Mitrophanow. The Moon Year. Shanghai: Kelly & Walsh, 1927. [faces page 438]

Things

An Electronic Analogue Computer. FROM: Cover of China Reconstructs, (April, 1966).
One of the Electronic Digital Computers Made in China. FROM: China Reconstructs, (April, 1964), page 11..

Images of Japan

People

Samurai. POSSIBLY FROM: Japan Magazine (date unknown)
Umbrella Maker FROM: Clement, Ernest W. Hildreth's "Japan As It Was and Is": A Handbook of Old Japan. Chicago: McClurg, 1906. [vol 2.]

Places

Temple of Hachiman at Kamakura from: Webster, Robert Grant. 1905. Japan: From the Old to the New. London: S.W. Partridge & Co. p.133
Bronze Gateway at Shiba from: Webster, Robert Grant. 1905. Japan: From the Old to the New. London: S.W. Partridge & Co. p.147

Events

Japan and Britain watching over the "children," Korea and China. FROM: W. Petrie Watson. Japan: Aspects & Destinies. London: Grant Richards, 1904.
Harakiri FROM: Clement, Ernest W. Hildreth's "Japan As It Was and Is": A Handbook of Old Japan. Chicago: McClurg, 1906. [vol 1] -- Photo faces p. 78.

Things

A Japanese Bed. FROM: Clement, Ernest W. Hildreth's "Japan As It Was and Is": A Handbook of Old Japan. Chicago: McClurg, 1906. [vol 1] -- Picture faces p. 186.
Noromon: An Ancient Type of Sedan Chair from: Webster, Robert Grant. 1905. Japan: From the Old to the New. London: S.W. Partridge & Co. p.217

Images of South Korea

People

Bull Loads of Wood for Sale. FROM: Allen, Horace N. Things Korean. New York: Fleming H. Revell, 1908, faces page 150.
A Korean Officer of the Old Army. FROM: Allen, Horace N. Things Korean. New York: Fleming H. Revell, 1908, faces the title page.
Three Men Swinging. FROM: Allen, Horace N. Things Korean. New York: Fleming H. Revell, 1908, faces page 150.

Places

Seoul Offices of the American Firm Controlling the Electric Plant and Water Works. FROM: Allen, Horace N. Things Korean. New York: Fleming H. Revell, 1908, faces page 216.

Images of Taiwan

Unsubdued Aborigines Living in the Mountains FROM: Mackay, George Leslie. From Far Formosa. New York: Fleming H. Revell, 1896. [photo faces page 256]

Audio

Most of the music MP3 available on e-Asia was derived from files that have been available on the Internet since the net began.

Sounds of China

Cultural Revolution

East Is Red《东方红》 [MP3 --- 3.7mb] From the musical epic: The East is Red

Anthems

The Internationale [MP3 --- 3.7 mb]
Soviet National Anthem [MP3 --- 3.2 mb]
"Gong Jin'ou" (Cup of Solid Gold) (1911-1912) [external link --- midi file]
"China Heroically Stands in Universe" (short-lived Yuan Shikai regime, 1915-1916) [external link --- midi file]
"Qing Yun ge" (The Song to the Auspicious Cloud) [ 1921-28] Also used by the Japanese puppet government of 1935-1941. [external link --- midi file]
"San Min Chu I" (1930-1949) [external link --- midi file]
"Yiyonggjun Jinxingqu" (The March of the Volunteers) People's Republic of China [external link --- midi file]
Manchukuo (Japanese puppet regime) In use: 1933-1942 [external link --- midi file]
Manchukuo (Japanese puppet regime) In use: 1942-1945 [external link --- midi file]
Tibet No precise information on when or how this became the Tibetan anthem, but (of course) not allowed to be played in Tibet. [external link --- midi file]

Speeches

Mao Zedong proclamation 毛泽东于公元一九四九年十月一日(October 1, 1949)
Zhou Enlai speech 周恩来于公元一九七四年九月三十日(September 30, 1974) [MP3 --- 2.3 MB]

Educational

These are the audio (mp3) files to accompany the text, Elementary English with Tibetan and Chinese Translation (Files provided by Kevin Stuart)

ABC Song	lesson 10	lesson 20	lesson 30
lesson 1	lesson 11	lesson 21	lesson 31
lesson 2	lesson 12	lesson 22	lesson 32
lesson3	lesson 13	lesson 23	lesson 33
lesson 4	lesson 14	lesson 24	lesson 34
lesson 5	lesson 15	lesson 25	lesson 35
lesson 6	lesson 16	lesson 26	lesson 36
lesson 7	lesson 17	lesson 27	lesson 37
lesson 8	lesson 18	lesson 28	lesson 38
lesson 9	lesson 19	lesson 29	Review

Namyi Folklore Materials (.wav files): (files provided by Kevin Stuart)

(1) a creation account	(7) a tragedy of a brother and a sister
(2) a story of family clan formation	(8) a hunting story
(3) a Namyi hero	(9) a story of how people came to use tobacco
(4) a religious specialist	(10) two sisters' adventures with a monster
(5) a story of seven daughters' adventures	(11) a story about a rabbit father-in-law and an orphan
(6) 'The Puppy and the Boy'

The original materials were collected from Namyi tellers in Zhequ (Chinese: Dashui) Village and Mu'er Village, Lianhe Township, Mianning County. Libu Lakhi (Zla ba bstan 'dzin, Dawa Tenzin, Li Jianfu, Zachary) transcribed the original material into IPA and rerecorded the material, which is presented here.See: Lakhi, Libu, Brook Hefright, and Kevin Stuart, The Namuyi: Linguistic and Cultural Features, Asian Ethnology, Volume 66, No. 1-2 (2007), pp. 233-253.

For a transcript of these audio materials, see Libu Lakhi, et al. 2009. Asian Highland Perspectives.

Sounds of Japan

Kimigayo The Japanese National Anthem

Sounds of Korea

MacArthur, Douglas. General Douglas MacArthur's Address before Congress, April 19, 1951. --- [MP3 format]

Sounds of Taiwan

Taiwan -- National Anthem [external link]
Taiwan (alternate anthem) "Gúoqí ge" (Flag Raising Song) [external link]

Film and Cinema

The films and videos presented on e-Asia's pages are streamed from the Internet Archive of motion pictures, a truly outstanding repository of film and other digital objects. Since these films are streamed, you may experience viewing pauses if the net traffic is heavy or if your connection is not optimal. See the Internet Archive for a variety of downloading options.

e-Asia Digital Library

Maps

Images

Audio

Film and Cinema

Contents