Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

e-Asia Digital Library

This document provides background and supplemental information about the e-Asia Digital Library, part of Oregon Digital at https://oregondigital.org

About e-Asia

The e-Asia project (2000-2011) under the direction of Robert Felsing, East Asian Bibliographer, was funded by the University of Oregon Libraries through the generosity of Nissho Iwai. By building a collection of digitized e-books and a database of full text web resources, e-Asia strove to contribute to the research and scholarship of East Asia.

While the e-Asia project was based largely on resources held at the University of Oregon Libraries, its purpose was neither to duplicate nor displace printed traditional materials. Rather, by providing searchable full text, the digitalization efforts of e-Asia represented a new tool aimed at facilitating the information-gathering process. e-Asia has no library hours because it is available 24 hours a day on the web; there is no waiting in line at the circulation desk, and there is no check-out period for e-Asia books; the books that you download become, in effect, your books. In terms of class reading assignments, e-Asia has the potential to reduce the amount of material placed on reserve as well as the struggle that ensues when copies of printed works are too few and students in need of those works are too many.

e-Asia became a part of Oregon Digital in 2018 where it is maintained as a static collection.

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift