Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Counseling Psychology

Background Information

As you start your research, it can be useful to look at sources like encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. These are also known as reference sources. They can help you identify or refine a topic for your research, find useful definitions or overviews of a specific subject or issue, identify key concepts and researchers in the field, and find other materials which might be useful for your research.

UO Libraries has sources like these both online and in print form. Print reference books are located on the first floor of Knight Library and are organized by call number. 

Reference Databases

These databases let you a search a multidisciplinary collection of reference sources and may be a good place to start if you aren't sure what type of reference source would have information on the topic you're interested in. 

Selected Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Other resources

We have access to many other encyclopedias and handbooks, both online and in print. Try searching the library catalog for additional resources.

Below is a list of other resources that may be helpful in getting background information on your topic. 

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

College of Education Librarian

Profile Photo
Katherine Donaldson
she, her
Contact:
kdonalds@uoregon.edu
541-346-4132 (landline)
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift