Research Guides: Counseling Psychology: Articles

Finding articles

While Google Scholar is good for many searches, a specialized database can uncover materials not covered in GS. In addition, individual databases allow for more targeted searching than Google Scholar.

APA PsycNet This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Major index to articles covering all aspects of medicine
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Authoritative coverage of all areas of biomedicine, including cell and molecular biology, genetics, etc., as well as clinical medicine.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) contains protocols and reviews of interventions, diagnostic tests, and methodology.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Database of journal and non-journal literature covering all areas in the field of education.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.
Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations

Accessing the full text of articles

When you're looking at an article in a database, look for a link to access the full text of the article as a PDF or HTML full text. If you are off-campus, you may want to download and install the campus VPN software to ensure reliable access to the UO Libraries electronic resources.

If there's no full text link available, click on the FindText button to see what your other options for access are. This will take you to the library catalog, where it will show you whether the article is available from a different source through the library's subscriptions.

If you still can't find the full text of the article, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loan. You should receive the article electronically within 1-2 days.

Note: As of December 28, 2022, library users will no longer place interlibrary loan requests through their ILLiad account. All requests can now be placed directly through LibrarySearch. Learn more at the Interlibrary Loan link above.

Counseling Psychology

Need Help?

College of Education Librarian

Finding articles

Accessing the full text of articles