Research Guides: Conducting: Recordings

Collected Recordings of Prominent Conductors

New York Philharmonic: the authorized recordings, 1917-2005 : a discography by James H. North
Call Number: ML156.7.N49 N67 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This is a complete discography of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra's recordings, from 1917 to the present day. Entries contain relevant details such as music, performers, session dates and venues, recording companies and producers, first release dates, and all issues of the recording, on 78-rpm discs, 45-rpm discs, Long-Playing records, and Compact Discs.
Discografia di Arturo Toscanini. In lingua italiana e in lingua inglese by Sandra de Luigi Berto
Call Number: ML156.7.T65 D5
Publication Date: 1957
Der Ring des Nibelungen by Richard Wagner; conducted by Georg Solti, with the Wiener Philharmoniker and Konzertvereinigung Wiener Staatsopernchor.
Call Number: COMPACT DISC CX16675 + other locations
Publication Date: 2012
Deluxe box set of all of Sir Georg Solti's recordings of the complete Ring cycle for Decca Records, plus complete librettos, Deryk Cooke's guides to the operas, John Culshaw's memoir about the recordings, and a 1965 documentary about the making of the recordings.

Finding Recordings by Conductor

Finding Recordings at UO

To find recordings by a specific conductor, use the Finding Recordings at UO

To find recordings by a specific conductor, use the Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch. Search the name of the conductor as author/creator, select "Audio & Video" as the material type, and select "UO Libraries" or "Music Collection" as the search scope.

You can also search for the title of a composition. If the composition has an opus number or other type of composer number (such as BWV for Bach or K. for Mozart), search for that as the title-- this is particularly useful for searching for works with genre- or form-based titles such as concertos and sonatas, where you might get a lot of results for things you don't want if you just search the composer and title alone.

Streaming Audio Databases

See the Audio tab in the main Music Research Guide for a list of our streaming audio databases.

The following streaming video database is of particular interest to conductors:

">Advanced Search interface in LibrarySearch. Search the name of the conductor as author/creator, select "Audio & Video" as the material type, and select "UO Libraries" or "Music Collection" as the search scope.

Streaming Audio Databases

See the Audio tab in the main Music Research Guide for a list of our streaming audio databases.

The following streaming video database is of particular interest to conductors:

Digital concert hall This link opens in a new window
Watch performances by the Berliner Philharmoniker streamed in high definition, on your TV, computer, tablet, or smartphone. About 40 concerts are broadcast each season, including symphonic performances, chamber music, choral music, childrens educational programming, and dance performances. Viewers can stream them live in real time or watch them later via the concert video archive. The archive also contains hundreds of past concerts with all the great artists of classical music, as well as documentaries and bonus films.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I will be on sabbatical from May 16-September 16, 2024. During that time, please contact musicref@uoregon.edu with music or dance research questions, or drop in at the Douglass Room for research help at the music desk Monday-Friday 10 am-6 pm. If you need assistance related to room reservations or facilities in the Douglass Room, please contact Jimmy Murray at jmurray2@uoregon.edu.

I will be available for appointments again starting in Fall Term 2024.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music