Research Guides: Conducting: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to Conducting

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on conducting history, development, and repertoire, as well as biographical entries on conductors. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

New Music Vocabulary by Howard Risatti
Call Number: MUSIC ML431 .R6
Publication Date: 1975
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Don Michael Randel (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .H37 2003
Publication Date: 2003
A large one-volume encyclopedia of people and terms pertaining to classical, popular, and world music. Includes some illustrations and musical examples.
A Dictionary of Early Music by Jerome Roche; Elizabeth Roche
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100.R695
Publication Date: 1981
Music Translation Dictionary: an English-Czech-Danish-Dutch-French-German-Hungarian-Italian-Polish-Portuguese-Russian-Spanish-Swedish vocabulary of musical terms by Carolyn Doub Grigg
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML108 .G855
Publication Date: 1978

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music