Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Clarinet

A guide to library resources for clarinet players.

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Ways to Browse for Clarinet Music

These are some of the call numbers for locating clarinet resources in the UO Music Collection.  Using these, you can browse for performance repertoire, histories, and method books on the physical shelves, or browse by Library of Congress call numbers in LibrarySearch.

Unaccompanied Works

  • M70-M74: Music for solo Clarinet (Includes alto clarinet, basset clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet; includes classical, blues, and jazz)
  • M110: Music for solo Basset Horn

Solo Works with Piano Accompaniment

  • M248-M252: Music for Clarinet and Piano (includes alto clarinet, basset clarinet, bass clarinet, contrabass clarinet)
  • M1025: Clarinet Concertos with Piano Accompaniment

Chamber Works

  • M288-M289: Clarinet Duets (2 Clarinets)
  • M357.2, M359: Woodwind Trios
  • M457.2, M459: Woodwind Quartets
  • M557.2, M559: Woodwind Quintets
  • M657.2, M659: Woodwind Sextets
  • M757.2, M759: Woodwind Septets
  • M959: Clarinet Choir Music (10+ Players)
  • M1245: Woodwind Choir Music (10+ Players)

Large Ensemble Works

  • M1024: Clarinet Concertos

Instruction, Study, and History (Books)

  • ML419: Biographies of Clarinetists
  • ML945-ML948: History of the Clarinet and Clarinet Playing
  • ML946: Clarinet Construction and Repair

Studies and Exercises (Teaching pieces and excerpts)

  • MT382-MT385, MT 388: Method and Instruction Books for Clarinet
  • MT386: Orchestral Excerpts for Clarinet
  • MT392: Methods, Instruction, and Orchestral Excerpts for Bass Clarinet

These are some of the Library of Congress Subject Headings for locating music for clarinet and literature about the clarinet in the UO Music Collection.  Using these, you can refine your searches in the library catalog, using the "subject" limiter.

To find method books, instruction books, and orchestral excerpts for auditions, try these subject terms:
     Clarinet--Methods
     Clarinet--Orchestral excerpts
     Clarinet--Studies and exercises

To find music for unaccompanied solo clarinet, try:
     Clarinet music
          Clarinet music--Bibliography
          Clarinet music--Discography
     Sonatas (Clarinet)
     Suites (Clarinet)
     Variations (Clarinet)
     Canons, fugues, etc. (Clarinet)
     Alto Clarinet music
     Bass Clarinet music

To find music for solo clarinet with keyboard accompaniment, try:
     Clarinet and piano music
     Sonatas (Clarinet and piano)
     Suites (Clarinet and piano)
     Clarinet and keyboard instrument music
     Clarinet and percussion music

To find music for multiple clarinets, try:
     Clarinet music (Clarinets (2))
     Woodwind Trios (Clarinets (3))
     Woodwind Quartets (Clarinets (4))
     Clarinet Choir Music

To find books and music for specific clarinet voices, try:
     Alto Clarinet
     Bass Clarinet
     Contrabass Clarinet

To find books about the Clarinet and its repertoire, try:
     Clarinet
          Clarinet--History
     Sonatas (Clarinet and piano)--history and criticism
     Clarinet mouthpieces
     Clarinet reeds
     Clarinet music--bibliography
     Clarinetists
          Clarinetists—United States

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer's picture
Ann Shaffer
Contact:
Pronouns: she/her/hers

I am working remotely during Fall 2020. Meet with me for a virtual consultation via Zoom, MS Teams, or by phone.
541-346-1930
Subjects:Dance, Music
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift