Research Guides: Queer Cinema: Articles and Primary Sources

Articles and Primary Sources

These sources will help you find scholarly journal articles and primary sources about film, including analysis and information about representation, how films were made, studios, producers, directors, writers, stars, publicity, and distribution.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
EIMA is a digital archive of key publications in the entertainment industry, including Variety, Broadcasting, Billboard, and much more. Covers the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
Core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.

**Tutorial available: View an Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive tutorial

FIAF Databases This link opens in a new window
A source for scholarly journal articles and reviews from the United States and around the world, with coverage back to 1972.
Includes the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the Treasures from the Film Archives, and the International Directory of Film and TV Documentation Collections
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
News, reviews, interviews, and advertisements about people in the film industry, studios, and productions.

Media History Digital Library
Full-text digital reproductions of early film industry and fan magazines, including Photoplay, Hollywood Reporter, and much more.
**Tutorial available: View a Media History Digital Library tutorial

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An excellent source for scholarly criticism and analysis of film, new media, cultural studies, and literature.

**Tutorial available: View a MLA International Bibliography tutorial

New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
News, reviews, interviews, and advertisements about people in the film industry, studios, and productions.

**Tutorial available: View a New York Times tutorial

Need Help?

Humanities Librarian

Jeff Staiger

Email Me

Contact:

541-346-1897 | jstaiger@uoregon.edu

Subjects: Biographies, Cinema Studies, Classics, Comparative Literature, English, Folklore, Honors College, Literature/ Literary Criticism, Philosophy, Romance Languages, Theater Arts