Use these sources to find overviews and background, definitions of terms, concepts, terms, and statistics.
The Bent Lens: A World Guide to Gay & Lesbian Film
Offers an alphabetical listing of more than 2,600 feature films, documentaries, and short films from over fifty countries, covering gay and lesbian filmmaking from 1914 to the present.
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts, 4th ed.
Cinema Studies: The Key Concepts is an essential guide for anyone interested in film. Providing accessible coverage of a comprehensive range of genres, movements, theories and production terms, this is a must-have guide to a fascinating area of study and arguably the greatest art form of modern times. Now fully revised and updated for its fourth edition, the book includes new topical entries such as: CGI Convergence Cult cinema Digital cinema/Post-digital cinema Dogme 95 Movement-image/Time-image Quota quickies 3-D technology"
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours. While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the Encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range of human experience is covered. Written by some of the most famous names in the field, as well as new researchers this is intended as a reference for students and scholars in all areas of study, as well as the general public.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Queer Culture covers gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender and queer (GLBTQ) life and culture post-1945, with a strong international approach to the subject. The scope of the work is extremely comprehensive, with entries falling into the broad categories of Dance, Education, Film, Health, Homophobia, the Internet, Literature, Music, Performance, and Politics. Slang is also covered.
Images in the Dark: An Encyclopedia of Gay and Lesbian Film and Video
An encyclopedia of gays and lesbian in film, including entries on people, production companies, films, and themes.
The Film Encyclopedia: The Complete Guide to Film and the Film Industry
Now in a fully revised and updated sixth edition with hundreds of new entries, this volume is the indispensable film book for film lovers, students, critics and everyone associated with the art and craft of film.
Schirmer encyclopedia of film
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive and accessible introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory and film history. Approximately 200 entries cover specific topics, including acting, censorship, editing, lighting and others.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
