Research Guides: Finance: Industry Research

Finding Industry Codes (SIC & NAICS)

Search by industry classification codes to generate lists of companies in that industry.

NAICS (North American Industrial Classification System)
Search for NAICS and SIC codes. The codes may be used to search for economic data on industries.
NAICS - U.S. Census
Official U.S. Government website provides the latest information on NAICS revisions, as well as NAICS reference files and tools.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry research database covering thousands of established and emerging industries in the US, China, and global economies. Reports include market characteristics, segmentation, industry conditions, industry financial data, key success factors, and forecasting. Subscription includes US, China and Global Industry, US Company Benchmarking, Business Environment Profiles, US Specialized Industry, iExpert, and US Industry Spotlight modules.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Contains basic public and private company profiles on more than 20 million North American companies and over 70 million global companies including recent financial information, subsidiaries, key competitors, and executive profiles. Also includes First Research industry profiles for more than 1000 industry segments, Key Business Ratios, job search information, and more.
Passport This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 115 internationally standardized statistics on industry sectors, country markets, and companies as well as full text market, company, & country reports; as well as expert analysis of emerging industry, country, and consumer trends.

Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources onto a single professional platform - categorized into 170 multidisciplinary categories, providing direct access to quantitative data on media, business, sports, politics, and a variety of other areas of interest.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Magazines, newspapers and journals in all business disciplines including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics going back to 1886. Additional content includes financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Gartner Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource is provided through UO's User Support Services. The Gartner Campus Access program provides faculty, students, and staff free, unlimited access to the Gartner research library which helps translate complex IT issues into comprehensive advice and meaningful analysis. This access includes Gartner's Hype Cycles, Magic Quadrants, research papers, and statistics.