Research Guides: GLBL 280: Global Environmental Issues &amp; Alternatives: News & Analysis

News & analysis

For current information, newspapers may be the best way to go. Depending on the newspaper (and their biases) they may have more analysis or are more critical of a particular topic.

Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting of over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®, including from international news sources.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for over 200 alternative and radical publications. Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political & social change. 1969 to present.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full text coverage of more than 340 regional, national and international newspapers. Includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Translations of Foreign News

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window

One source of English translations of international news is BBC Monitoring: International Reports, which can be searched via Nexis Uni. BBC Monitoring translates and analyzes news and information from freely available media sources around the world, covering TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies in 100 different languages from 150 countries.

To search:

Connect to the Nexis Uni database
On the left side, under "What are you interested in?", click on "A publication"
To the right, under "Find Publication", start typing: BBC Monitoring... the full name will appear, click on it

4. You can type in some keywords in the middle search box before you click on the search button to the right, and/or you can limit your search results and search within the results.