Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Women, Gender, and Sexuality in Special Collections

This guide offers brief descriptions of relevant Women in Society collections. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist.

Related Guides

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Women Scientists | SCUA Collections Documenting Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Women, Gender, and Sexuality, including Women’s Back to the Land movement, women linguists focusing on gender issues in language, women who have affected the political process and cultural landscape.

Carson, Rachel Louise (1907-1964).

In Philip Sterling Papers. 1947-1969. 5 ft.
Rachel Carson was a biologist, nature lover, and the writer of Silent Spring, an indictment of the use of dangerous chemical fertilizers. The collection includes the manuscript of Sea and Earth: The Life of Rachel Carson (New York: Crowell, 1970), Carson family background material, interviews with friends and relatives of Rachel Carson, photographs of Carson, newspaper clippings, and research notes.
(Ax 751)

Cormack, Maribelle. (1902-1984).

Papers. 1931-1969. 14 ft.
Maribelle Cormack wrote science books and books for adults and juveniles. The collection includes manuscripts, correspondence, radio scripts, original illustrations, notes, biographical information, and photographs.
(Ax 418)

Leach, Lilla Irvin (1886-1980).

Papers. 1925-1963. 1.5 ft.
Lilla Irvin Leach was an amateur botanist who specialized in Oregon Flora. The collection consists of correspondence, including letters from Louis F. Henderson; manuscripts; notebooks; and memorabilia.
(Ax 756)

Leland, Bernice.

Papers. 1906-1941. 1 box.
Bernice Leland was a botonist, who, with Winifred B. Chase, collected botanical specimens in Tahiti from September to November 1909 and in New Zealand from November 1909 to March 1910 for Josephine Tilden of the Botanical Department, University of Minnesota. The collection contains a diary of the trip to the South Seas, 1909 to 1910; correspondence; and miscellaneous papers. The diary is highly descriptive and personal. There are 20 letters from Ms. Tilden to Ms. Leland, 1909, concerning the project. Other papers include descriptions of particular botanizing trips. (Ax 150)

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

  • Oregon history, politics, culture
  • Authors and illustrators of children’s books
  • The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
  • Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
  • Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
  • Labor History
  • Journalism and Communications
  • Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
  • Environmental history
  • Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
  • Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
  • Utopian and intentional communities
  • Northwest architecture
  • Northwest economic history
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift