Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Women, Gender, and Sexuality, including Women’s Back to the Land movement, women linguists focusing on gender issues in language, women who have affected the political process and cultural landscape.
Song Book. 1858-1859. 1 vol.
Lydia M. Bauer compiled this book of German and English songs, both hymns and ballads, which were written by a member of the Aurora Colony in Oregon.
(F 811 B326)
Collected Proofs. 1 box.
The collection includes a galley proof of Willa Cather\'s Death Comes for the Archbishop and page proofs of Joseph Hergesheimer\'s Tampico, Hope Mirrlees\' Lud-in-the-Mist, and Elinor Wylie\'s Orphan Angel.
Letters and photographs. 1865-1877. 1 folder.
The collection includes two letters from Samuel Headrick, sheriff of Marion County, Oregon, 1865 and 1867; a letter from George W. Case of Eugene, Oregon, 1877; and three photographs of Samuel Headrick and Mrs. Headrick.
Political cartoons. ca. 1930-1950. 35 items.
Laura Brown, a Portland resident, collected these political cartoons, many of which are by Edward S. "Tige" Reynolds.
Miscellaneous letters. 1863-1864. 6 letters.
The letters, collected by Mrs. Brunig, are from the Civil War Era.
Papers. 1882-1885. 17 pieces.
Ida B. Hendricks graduated from the University of Oregon in 1885. She collected these compositions, orations, and mementos relating to the University of Oregon.
See Bauer, Lydia M.
Pherne Miller collected anything about her uncle, poet and playwright Cincinnatus Hiner "Joaquin" Miller. The collection includes 14 original letters by Joaquin Miller.
Collection. 1890-1950. 4 ft.
This collection of Portland, Oregon memorabilia includes photographs, playbills, clippings, and autographs.
Papers. 1914-1920. 4.5 ft.
Gertrude Bass Warner was the founder of the University of Oregon\'s Museum of Art. The collection includes diaries about trips to Japan, notes on Shinto festivals and shrines, and a manuscript entitled When West Meets East, a guide to Japanese Customs.
[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.
Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.
Historical Collection Strengths