Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Women, Gender, and Sexuality in Special Collections

This guide offers brief descriptions of relevant Women in Society collections. Links are provided whenever online inventories exist.

Related Guides

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Women Journalists | SCUA Collections Documenting Women, Gender, and Sexuality

Special Collections and University Archives collects in the topical area Women, Gender, and Sexuality, including Women’s Back to the Land movement, women linguists focusing on gender issues in language, women who have affected the political process and cultural landscape.

Allen, Louise Harford. (b. 1896).

In the Allen Family Papers. 1854-1940. 4 vols., 932 letters.
The Allen Family Papers include letters by her. Louise H. Allen, who was a newspaper reporter in Seattle, Washington from 1917 to 1919.
(Ax9)

Baldwin Eleanor F.

Letters. 1884-1924. 1 ft.
Eleanor Baldwin was a pamphleteer in Portland, Oregon. Her papers include manuscripts of articles about monetary systems and against war, Baldwin's Money Talks, and 34 pamphlets on money.
(Ax223)

Blocklinger, Peggy O'More. (1895-1970).

Papers. 1927-1970. 6 ft.
Peggy O'More Blocklinger was a journalist who worked on newspapers in Texas, California, and Oregon, and as a librarian in California and Oregon. She began writing novels for teenage girls in 1934. Her books were published under a variety of pseudonyms including Peggy O'More and Jeanne Bowman. Her papers include manuscripts, correspondence, notebooks, biographical material, photos, and scrapbooks.
(Ax 297)

Buchanon, Annette.

See Conard, Annette Buchanon.

Carew, Dorothy (1910-1973).

Papers. 1962-1969. 1.5 ft.
Dorothy Carew was a journalist, editor, and author of children's books. The collection includes manuscripts, notes and correspondence about her two books, The Netherlands and Portugal.
(Ax 848)

Carr, Mary Jane (b. 1899).

Papers. 1940-1958. 1 box.
Mary Jane Carr was born in St. Mary's, Minnesota and educated at Marylhurst College in Oregon. She was associate editor of the Catholic Sentinel and feature writer for the Portland Oregonian. The papers include a carbon manuscript of Children of the Covered Wagon (Crowell, 1934) and three original illustrations for the book by Robert Kuhn. There are also manuscripts of poems and letters from readers.
(Ax 121)

Case, Victoria (1897-1973).

Papers. 1938-1962. 5 ft.
Victoria Case was a freelance writer and journalism teacher. Her papers contain correspondence; manuscripts, mostly romances; tearsheets; source material; television and radio scripts; and reviews.
(Ax 230)

Chase, Mary Coyle. (1907-1981).

Papers. 1947-1968. 1 ft.
Mary Coyle Chase was a newspaper reporter, freelance correspondent, author, and playwright. Her papers comprise correspondence and manuscripts, including early versions and revisions of Bernadine and Harvey and the screen treatment of Harvey.
(Ax 542)

Crain, Lucille Cardin. (1901-1983).

Papers. 1920-1978. 8 ft.
In 1948, this Canadian-born author became editor and publisher of The Education Reviewer, published by William F. Buckley, Sr. Her papers contain correspondence with conservative individuals and organizations, speeches, subject files, and biographical material.

(Coll.95)

Greve, Alice Wheeler (1894-1984).

Papers. 1913-1981. 2.5 cubic ft.
Alice Wheeler Greve was an Oregon author and amateur local historian who taught school and wrote feature articles for Portland newspapers in the 1920s. The collection contains correspondence, manuscripts, published copies of Greve's two books, newspaper clippings, research notes, and a diary.
(Coll. 84)

Hargreaves, Sheba May (1882-1960).

Manuscripts. 1928-1935. 1.5 ft.
This collection consists of manuscripts by Sheba May Hargreaves, an Oregon journalist and author who wrote for the Portland newspapers Oregon Journal and the Oregonian.
(Coll. 194)

Parton, Margaret (1915-1981).

Papers. 1885-1981. 37 cubic feet.
Margaret Parton was a journalist, critic, and author. Her papers include correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, memorabilia, photographs, and tape recordings. There are also some Parton family papers.
(Coll.. 36)

McGivern, Maureen Daly (b. 1922).

Papers. 1941-1974. 7.5 ft.
Maureen Daly McGivern is a reporter, columnist, and author. Her papers include correspondence, manuscripts, television scripts, transcripts of interviews with Julie Andrews and Joan Didion, scrapbooks, and photographs.
(Ax 753)

Monroe, Anne Shannon (1877-1942).

Papers. 1902-1919. 2 volumes.
Anne Shannon Monroe was a journalist for the Tacoma, Washington News and the Chicago News and the Chicago Tribune. The collection includes scrapbooks of published stories, features, and reviews from Chicago newspapers.
(CA M757)

Sterling, Dorothy (b. 1913).

Papers. 1023-1978. 6.5 ft.
Dorothy Sterling was a journalist and later a free-lance writer and editorial consultant. Her papers contain the manuscript entitled "The Luce Empire, a History of Time, Inc." and related material; other manuscripts, research material, published works, reviews, and memorabilia are cataloged separately and are restricted from use.
(Ax 852)

Strangland, Artie E. (Appleton).

In the Arthur G. and Artie E. Strangland Papers. 1929-1954. 1 ft.
Artie Strangland was a writer for magazines. The collection contains manuscripts and correspondence.
(Ax 271)

Stump, Mary.

Selected Papers. 1871-1902. 0.25 cubic ft.
Mary Stump was a writer, proof reader, business manager, and eventually, publisher of the Christian Messenger, Monmouth, Oregon's first newspaper. She was also associated with the Christian College. The collection includes a journal account of her trip to the 1876 Centennial Exposition in Philadelphia and a scrapbook of writings and memorabilia.
(Coll. 104)

Teall, Kaye Moulton.

Papers. 1964-1967. 1 box. Kaye Moulton Teall was a free-lance writer. The collection includes the manuscript of From Tsars to Commissars (Messenger, 1966) and correspondence with Edith Margolis of the Lenniger Literary Agency.
(Ax 385)

Waldo, Mary Jane (1915-1967).

Papers. 1948-1965. 3 ft.
Waldo wrote for the Portland Oregonian as well as romance and confession stories. The collection includes manuscripts, poems, manuscripts by Peg Bracken Lull and Jean Loftus, and correspondence.
(Ax 427)

Worthington, Marjorie Muir (1900-1976).

Papers. 1931-1976. 5 cubic ft.
Marjorie Muir Worthington was an artist, poet, journalist, and author. Her papers include diaries, correspondence, manuscripts, and personal material.
(Coll. 152)

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Chat Email Phone TextVisit

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

  • Oregon history, politics, culture
  • Authors and illustrators of children’s books
  • The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
  • Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
  • Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
  • Labor History
  • Journalism and Communications
  • Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
  • Environmental history
  • Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
  • Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
  • Utopian and intentional communities
  • Northwest architecture
  • Northwest economic history
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift