Theater Arts

Albert M. Ottenheimer was an actor, author and a founder of the Seattle Repertory Playhouse, and founding member of the Seattle local of the American Federation of Radio Artists. Collection consists of investigation files relating to Albert M. Ottenheimer's blacklisting during the McCarthy era, including a diary Ottenheimer kept during his 30-day jail sentence; correspondence; literary manuscripts; scripts for television, radio, and the theater; scripts by others; professional file, including a log book and other material relating to the Seattle Repertory Playhouse; travel diary and souvenirs collected during his European tour of West Side Story; union material; memorabilia; photographs and audio-visual material.

The collection consists of a scrapbook that contains theater programs, of Portland, Oregon theater productions, from 1897-1907.

The study of rhetoric and performance has been a part of the curriculum of the University of Oregon since it opened its doors in 1877; the Department of Speech also used to offer classes in radio, film, theatre study, and also dramatic performance. The bulk of the collection (1948-1999) consists of records when the Department of Speech was heavily involved with theatre performance.

This collection includes meeting minutes, and office files, photographs, contact sheets, and negatives, broadsides, articles, posters, exhibit panels and other publicity, audio cassette tapes, and Eugene performing arts festival information, 1890-2001.

Travelling chautauqua shows offered lectures, plays, and concerts of religious, classical, and popular music, and in 1912, J.R. Ellison joined with Clarence H. White in establishing the Ellison-White Chautauqua Bureau, headquartered in Portland, Oregon. The collection contains seventeen scrapbooks (1931-1956) that include clippings, articles, programs, and other printed matter regarding the bureau's sponsored entertainment.

Frederic C. McConnell (1890-1968) worked as stage director of the Cleveland Play House, was founder and director of the Chautauqua Repertory Theater, and a charter member and officer of the National Theater Conference. The collection (1912-1968) contains correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, Cleveland Play House and Laguna Play House records, Katherine Wick Kelly papers, and stage material and productions.

Harlin Talbert worked in the theater and film business with stock and vaudeville companies, in theater and motion picture promotion as an actor, advance man, business manager and partner, and later promoted theatrical events in Albany, Oregon. The collection (1917-1930s) contains playbills, theater programs, and correspondence.

Horace Robinson (1910-2009), Professor Emeritus of the University of Oregon, served on the faculty as technical director, scene designer, and director of the University Theatre. Papers include manuscripts, scripts, scores and other creative works from productions at the University Theatre, photographs, and records of Robinson's involvement in local, national, and international professional and community service organizations.

Phi Beta, Pi Delta Chapter is a professional fraternal organization dedicated to music and dramatic art. Records include constitution, programs, ceremonies and events, national conventions, national publication "The Baton", photographs, program VHS and DVD, and scrapbooks, 1927-2006.

Thomas Albert Curry (1900- ) was the private secretary of famed theater producer David Belasco (1853-1931) from 1914 to 1931. Curry's papers contain articles, drafts and notes dealing with the life and career of Belasco. The collection includes portraits of Belasco, his family and colleagues, and publicity shots from Broadway productions, compiled for an unpublished biography. Collection also includes correspondence to and from Belasco, as well as numerous mementos relating to the producer.