Theater Arts

American Playwrights, 1880-1945: A Research and Production Sourcebook  |  Z1231 .D7 A52 1995
Lists first production, runs of significant productions, and important revivals. Summarizes published criticism of the productions. Also includes biographical information, assessment of the playwright's career, archival sources, and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.

American Theatre Companies, 1749-1986 (3 vols)
These volumes provide a history of the theater company and includes a listing of productions for each season. Each entry has a bibliography for further research. Use the title index to determine which companies performed particular plays.

• American Theatre Companies, 1749-1887  |  PN2237 .A43 1986
• American Theatre Companies, 1888-1930  |  PN2256 .A44 1987
• American Theatre Companies, 1931-1986  |  PN2266 .A54 1989\

Internet Broadway Database
IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

Irish Playwrights, 1880-1995: A Research and Production Sourcebook  |  PR8789 .I67 1997
Lists first production, runs of significant productions, and important revivals. Summarizes published criticism of the productions. Also includes biographical information, assessment of the playwright's career, archival sources, and bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.

London Stage Database (1660-1800)
A digitized, searchable version of The London Stage: 1660-1800 (see below), a core reference for 8th-century London theater compiled from newspapers, playbills, and contemporaneous theatrical diaries.

• See also: The London Stage: 1660-1800; a calendar of plays, entertainments & afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment. Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period [eBook]
• See also: Index to the London Stage, 1660-1800 [eBook]

The London Stage: A Calendar of Plays and Players, 1890-1949 (6 vols)
Day-by-day calendars of plays produced at the major London theaters cover major west-end theaters, thus dealing with all the big productions and names, revivals of the classics, and opera and ballet productions. With full production and contemporary review information for each play and comprehensive indexes.

Lortel Archives
An online catalog of all shows produced Off-Broadway, including dates, opening night credits, and awards. 

Modern Dramatists Research and Production Sourcebooks
The volumes in this series provide a comprehensive overview of individual playwrights' work, including reviews, production histories, scholarship, and bibliographies. Includes David Mamet, August Wilson, Lillian Hellman, and more.

Playbill Vault
Covers 20th century Broadway history, including some program images, headshots, and weekly Broadway gross box office receipts for more recent years.