Research Guides: Clark Honors College Research Guide: Newspapers & Magazines -- Historical

Newspapers & Magazines - Historical

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) This link opens in a new window
Leading newspaper of the black community.
The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published between 1808 and 1980 that chronicle the daily life, cultural heritage and world views of Hispanic communities in the U.S.
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Historic Oregon Newspapers provides digitized versions of selected Oregon newspapers published between 1846 and 2017. Approximately 200 newspapers are included in this collection. Dates of coverage vary from newspaper to newspaper.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
Oregon newspapers from newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a growing collection of historic newspapers published in Oregon. Access on campus and off-campus to current UO faculty students and staff.

Please note: We also have hundreds of local Oregon newspapers and other collections on microfilm in Knight Library. So if you are looking for information about Oregon, please visit the Microforms area of Knight Library.

Need Help?

Humanities Librarian

Chloe Barnett

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Academic / Interdisciplinary, Honors College, Writing / Composition