Research Guides: Common Reading 2023-24: "Feminist Futures" &amp; The Turnaway Study": Political Science

Dictionaries

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Political Science: A User's Guide to its Terms (online)
Call Number: JA61 .B43 1999
Also available in print
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics (online)
Dictionary of Political Biography, 2nd online ed. by Dennis Kavanagh and Christopher Riches
Call Number: Online

Encyclopedias, Guides, and Companions

The Encyclopedia of Political Thought by Michael Gibbons (Editor in chief)
Call Number: KNIGHT REF JA71 .E63 2015
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
Call Number: Online
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2001
Political Science Research in Practice by Akan Malici; Elizabeth S. Smith
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2012

Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles

Here are the top recommended article databases for political science:

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of 4 index and full-text databases covering political science and public policy: PAIS Index, Policy Index, Political Science Database, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to both the Science Citation Index (SCI) Expanded, Social Science Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts & Humanities Index. The database can be searched by words in article titles and abstracts, by author, by journal, and to look for cited references.

Historical and News Sources

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and historically significant periodicals, covering 1740-1900.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Historical analysis of the development of California and the Pacific Rim with a focus on immigration issues, coverage of the early days of the film industry, and coverage of Native American culture and society.
Los Angeles Times (2008 to present) This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the Los Angeles Times newspaper, microfilm edition.
New content is added to the database after the newspapers are microfilmed, so currency usually runs 6-12 weeks behind. This site works only in Internet Explorer or Chrome on Windows computers and Firefox or Safari on Macs.
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Digital reproduction of the NY Times, with full page and article images as well as searchable full text back to the first issue.
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources dealing with U.S. women's history from 1600 to 2000

Statistical Databases

Explore Census Data This link opens in a new window
Data collected by the US Census Bureaus censuses and surveys, including the 2000 and 2010 decennial censuses, the American Community Survey, the Economic Census, and the Population Estimates program
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Collection of computer-readable social science data.
Data can be used for both research and instructional activities. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code. You will need to register from a UO IP address to download data.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECDs analysis and data.
UO-owned books only.
State statistics This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly 200 Social Science databases covering all 50 U.S. states and some municipalities.
Roper iPoll This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Maps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.
Statistical Abstract of the US This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
UNdata This link opens in a new window
Portla to statistical data collected from member states by the UN Statistical Division.
World Bank Open Data This link opens in a new window
Official data from the World Bank tracking more than 575 socio-economic development indicators across more than 220 countries, and 18 regional & income groups. Topics include: Agriculture & Rural Development, Climate Change, Education, Gender, Infrastructure, Trade and Urban Development.

Common Reading 2023-24: "Feminist Futures" & The Turnaway Study"

Need Help?

Dictionaries

Encyclopedias, Guides, and Companions

Scholarly & Peer-reviewed Articles

Historical and News Sources

Statistical Databases