Research Guides: HIST 407: Animal History: Primary Sources

Select Subject Headings for Primary Resources

Sources
Personal narratives
Correspondence
Biography
Interviews
Diaries
Facsimiles
Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.
Speeches
Manuscripts
Early Works to 1800
Pamphlets

Primary Resources Databases

19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
African Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
African Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new window
American West This link opens in a new window
Archives of sexuality & gender This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of Indigenous peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Caribbean history and culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Catalog This link opens in a new window
These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. The UO Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries.
Chicago Defender (1910-1975) This link opens in a new window
The newspaper was a proponent of The Great Migration, the move of over 1.5 million African-Americans from the segregated South to the industrial North from 1915 to 1925. It reported on the Red Summer race riots of 1919, and editorialized for anti-lynching legislation and the integration of blacks into the U.S. military.
Chronicling America : historic American newspapers This link opens in a new window
Colonial Africa in official statistics, 1821-1953 This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Materials include books, tracts, pamphlets, advertisements, ballads, rhymes, and other ephemera. The database continues to develop, with over 100,000 records currently included and increasing capabilities for direct keyword searching of the texts.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context. U.S. history This link opens in a new window
Gale primary sources This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
Features Spanish-language newspapers and titles published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Historic Oregon Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Indigenous peoples of North America This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Latin American Newspapers. Series 2 This link opens in a new window
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
Los Angeles Times (1881-1997) This link opens in a new window
Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
New York times (digital reproduction, 1851-2015) This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth century U.S. newspapers This link opens in a new window
Oregon Digital This link opens in a new window
Oregon newspapers from newspapers.com This link opens in a new window
Russian Central Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Official sources (Rossiiskaia gazeta, Krasnaia zvezda, ITAR-TASS), independent media and partisan publications are all represented on this database, thus offering a wide array of opinions and perspectives. Several English-language newspapers including the notable Moscow Times, widely read by the international community in the Russian capital, constitute an important part of the database.
Sabin Americana: history of the Americas, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Sixties in America This link opens in a new window
South Asian Newspapers (Readex) This link opens in a new window
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window

Primary Sources

Primary sources are documents, images or artifacts that provide firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning a historical topic

Primary sources vary by discipline and can include:

Historical and legal documents such as personal papers, government documents, legal codes, treaties
Eye witness accounts: newspapers or transcripts of radio or TV news from the time the event took place
Social media posts
Results of an experiment (Lab reports)
Statistical data
Maps
Creative writing: novels, stories, poetry, plays
Religious texts
Art objects: drawings, photos, paintings, sculptures, medical illustrations
Architecture: blueprints as well as the finished structures
Film, TV, video
Many sources can be treated as a primary text, i.e. a webpage produced by a political group.

HIST 407: Animal History

Select Subject Headings for Primary Resources

Sources

Personal narratives

Correspondence

Biography

Interviews

Diaries

Facsimiles

Notebooks, sketchbooks, etc.

Speeches

Manuscripts

Early Works to 1800

Pamphlets

Primary Resources Databases

Primary Sources