Research Guides: LGBTQIA+ Legal Research Guide: Journal Articles

Law Review Articles

Researchers can search Lexis, Westlaw or HeinOnline for law review articles. Although there are journals that specifically focus on LGBTQIA+ law, any law review might publish relevant articles in this area.

Lexis (law students)

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(UO students)
Use the Guided Search: select the Law Reviews box, enter your keywords, choose a date range.

Westlaw (law students)
WestlawCampus (non-law students)
Enter your search terms in the box at the top of the page.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Enter your search terms in the top box.

Other Databases

LGBT Life Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database focuses on LGBT publications. It includes LGBT Law Notes.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, popular, and internet publications, providing interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics, including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Archives of sexuality & gender This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Primary source documents from major international activist organizations and local grassroots organizations providing information on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities. Includes often-excluded groups, even within the LGBTQ community, and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.

Law Journals

There are many law journals that focus exclusively on LGBTQ+ law. When looking for a paper topic, it can be useful to browse a recent issue's table of contents.