Research Guides: Ancient Mediterranean Art and Archaeology: Databases and Online Resources

Databases and Online Resources

Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of scholarly works relating to Greek and Roman civilization, 1924-2009.

Abzu
Open-access resources about the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean. Freely available.
Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL)
Scholarly materials about the ancient world. Freely available.
Ancient World Online (AWOL)
Open-access resources about the ancient world. Freely available.
Attic Inscriptions Online
A website which publishes the inscriptions of ancient Athens and Attica in English translation.
Brill's New Jacoby
Digital corpus of fragments of Greek historians with English translations. Subscription required for full access; limited searching available for free.
Brill's New Pauly
Online scholarly encyclopedia about Greece and Rome. Subscription required for full access; limited searching available for free.
Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum
Database with Latin inscriptions.
Diotíma
Resources about women and gender in the Ancient Mediterranean.
Epigraphic Database Heidelberg
Database with Latin and Latin-Greek inscriptions of the Roman Empire.
Epigraphik-Datenbank Clauss/Slaby (EDCS)
Database with Latin inscriptions.

Loeb classical library This link opens in a new window
Searchable digital version of the Loeb Classical Library, covering the extant corpus of Greek and Latin authors from the Homeric era to late antiquity, in up-to-date texts with facing English translations.

LSJ: Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon
Online ancient Greek dictionary. Freely available.
Nestor
Bibliography of Aegean studies and related fields. Freely available.
Online Resources for the Study of Greek Epigraphy from the Sara B. Aleshire Center for the Study of Greek Epigraphy
List with links to the major online resources for the study of Greek inscriptions.
Perseus Digital Library
Searchable primary and secondary sources about Greece and Rome. Freely available.
Pleiades
Gazetteer and graph of ancient places. Freely available.
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum (SEG)
Digital corpus of Greek inscriptions. Subscription required for full access; limited searching available for free.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)
Digital corpus of Greek texts. You will need to register for a free account to access the abridged TLG.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL)
Digital corpus of Latin texts. Open access.
TOCS-IN - Table of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Searchable tables of contents of journals that relate to Classics, the Near East, and Religion. Freely available.
Zenon DAI
Archaeological bibliography. Freely available.

Interdisciplinary and General Art History Databases

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
HathiTrust digital library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Current UO students, faculty and staff should log into HathiTrust as the "University of Oregon". Additional functions, such as the ability to download the whole book are available only to users of member libraries. Using HathiTrust.
BrowZine This link opens in a new window
A great new service that allows you to discover, browse, and read top scholarly journals in a fast and easy-to-use Web application. BrowZine delivers electronic academic journals to users’ Web browsers, tablet devices, and smart phones, and aims to improve the discovery and customized viewing of e-journal content.

Art History Databases (Extended List)
Extended list of databases and electronic resources of interest to art history.

Design Library Help

What is a database?

A database brings together articles from different journals so that you can search in one place for related information.

How do I access databases?

Items with a padlock image are only available to UO faculty, staff, and students. Use your Duck ID to log on. If you are not affiliated with UO, you can visit the library and access most of our secure resources for free on site.