Trial databases offer free access for a given period to journal articles and other resources covering many disciplines and special interests—everything from New World cinema to Russian mass media to sports medicine. UO students, faculty, and staff can explore the databases during the trial period and provide feedback on their usefulness. To access these trial databases from off-campus, you must log into the UO VPN Client software.
If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases!
Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.
Library databases (sometimes called indexes) are like search engines but search scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.
Many library databases provide the full text of articles. Look for a full-text link next to your article, or use the 
icon in the database to connect to the complete article.
Not sure where to start? Try using one of these...
This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Some databases contain unique materials such as dissertations, primary sources, images, music, videos, and government documents. Browse library databases for more suggestions.
Watch this video from
After adding a Subject Term to your search, click "Search" and then combine with additional keywords using AND. Note where the Subject Term shows up in your results:
Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.
You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.
This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.
If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button 
to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.
When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).
Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.
Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.
Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.
Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.
Citation chaining (or chasing) is the name for a process in which you use an information source to find other work that is cited within the first source (backwards chaining) or cites to the first source (forward chaining).
Below is a YouTube video on how citation chaining works in Google Scholar. Keep in mind that you should not have to pay for an article while you are a UO student. Contact your Subject Librarian for help locating materials. In this video, look for a "fluff word" that the researcher uses when searching.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
