Indian and Tribal Law Research

Title 25, United States Code.

House Subcommittee for Indigenous Peoples of the United States - the Subcommittee oversees matters ranging from natural resources and land management, ownership, and leasing to Indian health care, tribal criminal justice, development of reservation economies, enhancement of social welfare and improvement of energy efficiency and renewable energy development initiatives on tribal lands. This site contains information on Committee activity, publications, and bills. 

Senate Committee on Indian Affairs - This site contains information on hearings, Senate publications, and legislation.

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, and Law - HeinOnline (available to the UO Community). This database contains legislative histories; Congressional Research Service Reports; Constitutions, Acts and Bylaws; Hearing documents; and Treaty information.

Westlaw (available to law students and faculty only) - Native American Law Collection, statutes and court rules. 

Lexis (available to law students and faculty only) - Native American Law Collection, statutes and legislation. 

Executive Orders relating to Indian reserves from May 14, 1855, to July 1, 1902 - Library of Congress.

Title 25, Code of Federal Regulations

Bureau of Indian Affairs 

Department of Interior, Interior Board of Indian Appeals, University of Oklahoma collection.

Interior Board of Indian Appeals, available on Westlaw (for law students and faculty only).

Native American Solicitor's Opinions, available on Lexis (for law students and faculty only).

Significant Indian Cases, U.S. Department of Justice.

Cases - Native Americans, Oyez, a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.

Tribal Court Clearinghouse - This database provides access to Federal Court Decisions, in addition to other legal resources. 

Westlaw - Cases, Federal Native American Law. Westlaw is available to law students and faculty only. 

Lexis - Native American Cases, Federal, State, Tribal. Lexis is available to law students and faculty only.