As of fall, 2024, UO Libraries does not subscribe to any qualitative software. Individual departments or faculty sometimes have research funds available to support subscriptions. Note that at least for Dedoose, you can suspend your subscription during months you are not working on the project actively and then re-subscribe when you are ready to begin work again. Just be sure to download a backup copy of your project, since Dedoose does not promise to retain the projects of non-paying customers.
| Atlas.ti | Dedoose | NVivo | MaxQDA | Taguette | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coding Language(s) |
|
|
|||
|
User Interface Language(s) |
English, Spanish & German |
Compatible with most languages |
English, Simplified Chinese, French, German, Japanese, Portuguese & Spanish |
English, German, Spanish, French, Japanese, Italian, Chinese simplified, Chinese traditional, Portuguese, Brazilian Portuguese, Russian, Turkish, and Polish |
German, French, Spanish, English, Italian, Portuguese, Dutch |
|
Operating System(s) |
Windows Mac OS X Linux |
Windows Mac OS X Linux |
Windows Mac OS X |
Windows Mac OS X |
Windows Mac OS X Linux |
|
Cost (please check commercial websites for latest prices) |
Student License (6 months): $51 Student License (2 years): $99 Educational License, Single User(monthly): $23 Educational License, Multi-User, 1 concurrent (annually): $357 |
Standard License, Single User: $12.95 monthly |
Student License (12 months): $118 Academic License: $1,019 |
Student Plus License (6 months): $47 Student Plus License (24 months): $95 Student Analytics Pro (6 months): $55 Student Analytics Pro (24 months): $110 MaxQDA Analytics Pro (perpetual): $878 |
Free/Open Source |
Atlas.ti is a qualitative data analysis software with the purpose of revealing meanings and relationships within complex datasets. Typical users include anthropologists, universities, and profit/nonprofit corporations. Free trial available.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Import and Export File Capabilities
Import: Text files (.csv, .doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .txt), Graphic files (.jpeg, .gif) Video files (.mp4) & audio formats
Export: Excel files (.xls, .xlsx), Web-based files (.html, .xml) & additional formats (.sav)
View the Atlas.ti video tutorial below to learn more about basic coding techniques and how to create and assign codes. Closed captions are available.
Dedoose is a data analysis web-based software, that allows for easy integration of both qualitative and quantitative datasets. Typical users include psychologists, sociologists, social scientists, health researchers, market researchers, and policy researchers. Free trial available.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Import and Export File Compatibility
Import: Excel files (.xls, .xlsx), Text files (.doc, .docx, .txt, .rtf, .csv, .pdf), Video files (.pm4) & Audio files (.mp3, .wav, .m4a, .wma)
Export: Excel files (.xls, .xslx) & Text files (.doc, .docx, .txt, .csv, .pdf)
NVivo is a qualitative and mixed methods research software to organize and analyze data. Typical users include anthropologists and policy researchers. Free trial available.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Import and Export File Compatibility
Import: Excel files (.xls, .xlsx), Text files (.doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf, .txt), Graphic files (.bmp, .gif, .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .tif, .tiff), Video files (.mpg, .mpeg, .mpe, .mp4, .avi, .wmv, .mov, .qt, .3gp, .mts, .m2ts), Audio files (.mps, .m4a, .wma, .wav) & Web-based files
Export: Excel files (.xls, .xlsx) & Text files (.doc, .docx, .pdf, .rtf)
View the NVivo video tutorial below to learn more about the beginning steps of using NVivo.
Taguette is a free and open-source tool for qualitative research. You can import your research materials, highlight and tag quotes, and export the results. Use the free version hosted by NYU or download and host your own copy.
| Pros | Cons |
|---|---|
|
|
Import and Export File Compatibility
Import: .pdf, .docx, .txt, .odt, .md, or .html.
Export: QDC (REFI-QDA standard), CSV (spreadsheet), XLSX (Microsoft Excel), DOCX (Microsoft Word), HTML, and PDF.
Qualitative Research in Health Care by
Provides the essential information that health care researchers and health professionals need to understand the basics of qualitative research Now in its fourth edition, this concise, accessible, and authoritative introduction to conducting and interpreting qualitative research in the health care field has been fully revised and updated. Continuing to introduce the core qualitative methods for data collection and analysis, this new edition also features chapters covering newer methods which are becoming more widely used in the health research field; examining the role of theory, the analysis of virtual and digital data, and advances in participatory approaches to research. Qualitative Research in Health Care, 4th Edition looks at the interface between qualitative and quantitative research in primary mixed method studies, case study research, and secondary analysis and evidence synthesis. The book further offers chapters covering: different research designs, ethical issues in qualitative research; interview, focus group and observational methods; and documentary and conversation analysis. A succinct, and practical guide quickly conveying the essentials of qualitative research Updated with chapters on new and increasingly used methods of data collection including digital and web research Features new examples and up-to-date references and further reading The fourth edition of Qualitative Research in Health Care is relevant to health care professionals, researchers and students in health and related disciplines.
Qualitative Research by
The bestselling guide to qualitative research, updated and expanded Qualitative Research is the essential guide to understanding, designing, conducting, and presenting a qualitative research study. This fourth edition features new material covering mixed methods, action research, arts-based research, online data sources, and the latest in data analysis, including data analysis software packages as well as narrative and poetic analysis strategies. A new section offers multiple ways of presenting qualitative research findings. The reader-friendly, jargon-free style makes this book accessible to both novice and experienced researchers, emphasizing the role of a theoretical framework in designing a study while providing practical guidance. Qualitative research reaches beyond the what, where, and when of quantitative analysis to investigate the why and how behind human behavior and the reasons that govern such behavior, but this presents a number of significant challenges. This guide is an invaluable reference for students and practitioners alike, providing the deep understanding that this sometimes difficult area of research requires to produce accurate results. The book contains a step-by-step guide to analyzing qualitative data and an addendum for graduate students with a template for a thesis, dissertation, or grant application. Build a strong foundation in qualitative research theory and application Design and implement effective qualitative research studies Communicate findings more successfully with clear presentation Explore data sources, data analysis tools, and the different types of research
Qualitative Research in Business by
Qualitative methods are today taking their rightful place as valuable and powerful research tools both in business and elsewhere. Many professionals, however, continue to lack the skills needed to apply these methods in an effective and convincing manner. Qualitative Methods in Business Research: A Practical Guidebook offers an analysis and "how to" guide regarding qualitative research methods that provides practical and effective advice for those seeking knowledge regarding the application of these tools. Opening discussions compare formal/scientific/quantitative methods of investigation with qualitative alternatives. Having provided this overview, a range of qualitative methods are discussed in an easy-to-understand manner that will be invaluable for those who wish to use these tools as part of their decision-making processes. Assuming no prior background in qualitative research methods, the text is ideal both for the classroom and for use as a professional handbook. Powerpoint presentations reviewing each chapter will be provided to those instructors adopting the book as a text for classroom instruction.
Qualitative Research by
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive overview of the field of qualitative research. It is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. This handbook provides a broad introduction to the field of qualitative research to those with little to no background in the subject, while simultaneously providing substantive contributions to the field that will be of interest to even the most experienced researchers.
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Data Analysis by
The wide range of approaches to data analysis in qualitative research can seem daunting even for experienced researchers. This handbook is the first to provide a state-of-the art overview of the whole field of QDA; from general analytic strategies used in qualitative research, to approaches specific to particular types of qualitative data, including talk, text, sounds, images and virtual data. The handbook includes chapters on traditional analytic strategies such as grounded theory, content analysis, hermeneutics, phenomenology and narrative analysis, as well as coverage of newer trends like mixed methods, reanalysis and meta-analysis. Practical aspects such as sampling, transcription, working collaboratively, writing and implementation are given close attention, as are theory and theorization, reflexivity, and ethics. Written by a team of experts in qualitative research from around the world, this handbook is an essential compendium for all qualitative researchers and students across the social sciences.
Qualitative Research Methods by
Qualitative Research Methods is a comprehensive, all-inclusive resource for the theory and practice of qualitative/ethnographic research methodology. Serves as a "how-to" guide for qualitative/ethnographic research, detailing how to design a project, conduct interviews and focus groups, interpret and analyze data, and represent it in a compelling manner Demonstrates how qualitative data can be systematically utilized to address pressing personal, organizational, and social problems Written in an engaging style, with in-depth examples from the author's own practice Comprehensive companion website includes sample syllabi, lesson plans, a list of helpful website links, test bank and exam review materials, and exercises and worksheets, available upon publication at www.wiley.com/go/tracy
Qualitative Methods for Practice Research by
This innovative book describes how qualitative methods can be used to investigate the use of theory in social work practice. It offers not just a comprehensive overview of methods, but a concise, accessible guide focused on how to study and explicate application of theory, and the creative tension that inevitably exists between theory and practice. This cutting-edge pocket guide will equip practitioner-scholars with the foundation for conducting research that makes a difference.
Qualitative Content Analysis in Practice by
Margrit Schreier takes students step-by step through the qualitative analysis process. After reading the book, students are fully equipped to conduct their own qualitative content analysis. Designed for upper level undergraduate, MA, PhD students and researchers across the social sciences, this is essential reading for all those who want to use qualitative content analysis.
Qualitative GIS by
Geographic Information Systems are an essential tool for analyzing and representing quantitative spatial data. Qualitative GIS explains the recent integration of qualitative research with Geographical Information Systems With a detailed contextualising introduction, the text is organised in three sections: Representation: examines how researchers are using GIS to create new types of representations; working with spatial data, maps, and othervisualizations to incorporate multiple meanings and to provide texture and context. Analysis: discusses the new techniques of analysis that are emerging at the margins between qualitative research and GIS, this in the wider context of a critical review of mixed-methods in geographical research Theory: questions how knowledge is produced, showing how ideas of ′science′ and ′truth′ inform research, and demonstrates how qualitative GIS can be used to interrogate discussions of power, community, and social action Making reference to representation, analysis, and theory throughout, the text shows how to frame questions, collect data, analyze results, and represent findings in a truly integrated way. An important addition to the mixed methods literature, Qualitative GIS will be the standard reference for upper-level students and researchers using qualitative methods and Geographic Information Systems.
Qualitative Research Methods for the Social Sciences by
This text uses hands-on activities and real-life examples to provide the most comprehensive and straightforward coverage of doing qualitative research on the market. The author's central purpose is to show inexperienced researchers how to design, collect, and analyze data and then present their results to the scientific community, while stressing the importance of ethics in research and taking the time to properly design and think through any research endeavor.
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
