Human Physiology (HPHY)

THE database for medical sciences. Published by the National Library of Medicine, free to anyone, but use THIS link to get the UO holdings information via the FINDTEXT button.

Use this see an article's reference list (footnote chasing ) and who has cited it (pearling).

Sport Discus provides extensive, interdisciplinary coverage of sport-related topics from approximately 300 sport and physical education periodicals from 1949 to present. Try this database when PubMed is too narrowly focused to help.

Google for academics. Be sure to set up LIBRARY LINKS in Scholar Preferences, either from the gear icon on the black navigation bar or by setting it up from the page below: http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/librarylinks.html

Top evidence based medicine reviews and trials.

Journals focusing on many medical disciplines and especially nursing and allied health. This should duplicate material in other databases, but try it if you're not getting the articles you need in your other searches.

Extensive coverage of theses and dissertations in all fields of health as it relates to physical activity, physical fitness, activities of daily living, work, sport and athletics, recreation, dance, and play. Indexed very well.

With full text for over 3,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals, this is a good database for almost any topic. It can also really help if you're researching a multidisiplinary aspect of exercise or sport.

A measure of the relative importance of a specific journal in it's academic discipline. This one now includes the Eigen Factor.

Useful for article and author level metrics.

Useful for article level metrics, if on campus or using VPN, there should also be a link to Web of Science citations.