Research Guides: GLBL 415/515 Global Story of Race: Articles (Scholarly)

Finding Scholarly Articles

Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Covers scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Access Google Scholar items from off-campus.
Web of science core collection This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Ethnicity & Geographic-Focused Databases

Bibliography of Indigenous peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
HAPI This link opens in a new window
Selectively indexes journals in the social sciences and humanities, focussing on Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
PRISMA database This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

History Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present

eHRAF World Cultures

The Human Relations Area Files, now digitized and available online as eHRAF (database link below), are a long-time important resource in anthropology. Being originally a print resource with complex, hierarchical indexing, it is not the most intuitive database to use.

The resource itself provides a lot of help pages, including the eHRAF User Guide.

A few tips from my own experience:

Browse SUBJECTS to find out what subject headings are used for, e.g., 'Race'
Use Advanced Search to select Culture(s)--arranged geographically--and combine with the subject heading(s) you found.
You can add more specific keywords to narrow it down if needed.

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.

GLBL 415/515 Global Story of Race

Need Help?

Global Studies Librarian

Finding Scholarly Articles

Ethnicity & Geographic-Focused Databases

History Databases

eHRAF World Cultures