As you start your research, it can be useful to look at sources like encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries. These are also known as reference sources. They can help you identify or refine a topic for your research, find useful definitions or overviews of a specific subject or issue, identify key concepts and researchers in the field, and find other materials which might be useful for your research.
UO Libraries has sources like these both as ebooks and in print form.
These databases let you a search a multidisciplinary collection of reference sources and may be a good place to start if you aren't sure what type of reference source would have information on the topic you're interested in.
This is a selection of some of the encyclopedias and handbooks the UO Libraries has related to Child Behavioral Health. We also have access to many others, both online and in print. Try searching LibrarySearch for additional resources by typing (handbook OR encyclopedia) and the broad topic of your interest.
APA Handbook of Psychopathology, Vol 2: Child and Adolescent PsychopathologyBelow is a list of other resources that may be helpful in getting background information on your topic.
The American Psychiatric Association's Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®) is used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders. In addition to DSM-5, DSM-5 Library provides unlimited access to DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and the Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria from DSM-5.
Literature reviews in the biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485
