Skip to main content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

​Journalism and Communication

This guide will help you find different databases, articles, and other resources to assist you in your research related to journalism, communication, public relations, advertising, and more.

Web Resources

  • University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication provides links to faculty, course Web pages, and student publications.
  • Lynda.com provides video tutorials on how to use software programs such as Final Cut Pro and Adobe Photoshop. It is available for free to SOJC students.
  • Online Newspapers provides links to online newspapers and news services around the globe.
  • TV News (Internet Archive) provides television news broadcasts from 2009 onwards. Registration (free) required.
  • The Roper iPoll Databank is a comprehensive source for U.S. public opinion polling, from 1935 to the present.
  • AP Images includes approximately 750,000 current and archived photos from the library of the Associated Press.
  • The Pew Research Center has excellent reports and data on Americans' use of the press and Internet.
  • Mashable is an excellent resource for anyone interested in keeping up with digital technology and social media.
  • Center for Public Integrity: Investigative Reporting in the Public Interest provides a model for those interested in how the Web can invigorate investigative reporting.
  • Poynter Online. The Poynter Institute specializes in journalism education, and its Web site is a useful source for scanning its curriculum and publications.
  • Want an idea of how people will be communicating in five years? Start at the MIT Media Lab, where communication and computers interweave in state-of-the-art research programs.
  • Photojournalism: An Ethical Approach is the digital version of an excellent resource on ethical considerations in the field of photojournalism.

Need Help?

Chat Email Phone Text

Journalism and Communication Librarian

Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism's picture
Carolina Hernandez - Communication/ Journalism
Contact:
University of Oregon Libraries
1299 University of Oregon
Eugene, OR 97403-1299
541-346-3078
Social:Twitter Page