Research Guides: Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Research Guide: News, Data, &amp; Other Primary Sources

Digital Archives

Archives of sexuality & gender This link opens in a new window
If searches in this database retrieve incorrect results, clear cache/cookies to resolve the problem.
Primary source documents from major international activist organizations and local grassroots organizations providing information on social, political, health and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities. Includes often-excluded groups, even within the LGBTQ community, and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism.
Women's studies archive. Women's issues and identities. This link opens in a new window
Women's Studies Archive
As the first in the Women’s Studies archive, this collection traces the path of women’s issues from past to present, pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more. It captures the foundation of women’s movements, struggles and triumphs, and provides researchers with valuable insights.
A comprehensive academic-level archival resource, Women’s Studies Archive: Women’s Issues and Identities focuses on the social, political, and professional achievements of women throughout the nineteenth and twentieth century. Along with providing a closer look at some of the pioneers of women’s movements, this collection offers scholars a deep dive into the issues that have affected women and the many contributions they have made to society.
Women and social movements, international: 1840 to present This link opens in a new window
Backed by a global editorial board of 130 leading scholars, Women and Social Movements, International 1840-Present is a landmark collection of primary materials drawn from more than 300 repositories. Assembled and cross-searchable for the first time, these resources illuminate vast areas of modern history. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, Women and Social Movements, International 1840-Present reveals how women’s social movements shaped many of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women and social movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources dealing with U.S. women's history from 1600 to 2000

UO Special Collections and University Archives
Special Collections and University Archives, on the 2nd floor of Knight Library (front of the building) has millions of primary sources for you to explore! The collections are especially strong on Oregon-based topics, but there are items from around the world. Visit them whenever they are open and they will help you find what you need.
Additional Digital Collections at the UO
Provides links to our many digital collections at the UO Libraries & Special Collections.
The Internet Archive
A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to films, images, archived websites, and more.

Note: Many universities and organizations have digitized many items from their local Special Collections & Archives, and searching the open internet will often find these high quality collections. Try adding keywords to your search like "digital archive," or "university," to your searches to narrow your results down to these academic collections (and to get rid of some of the wacky results that the rest of the internet might give you.)

Newspapers - Current

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Access world news This link opens in a new window
Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.

Datasets

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Maps and reports based on U.S. Census and other data sources, 1790 to present.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
Collection of computer-readable social science data.
Data can be used for both research and instructional activities. Studies are comprised of documentation, data (may include versions ready formatted for SPSS or Stata), and program code. You will need to register from a UO IP address to download data.
Sociometrics. Data. This link opens in a new window
Social science data archives with more than600 premier datasets and over 275,000 variables.