Research Guides: Sports Journalism and Research: Finding Primary Sources

Archival Sources

When looking for archival sources, your topic will always affect where you will want to search. For example, university archives are a good place to look for historical collections related to collegiate athletics. Many archives will have some digitized materials available online, which can be useful when visiting the archives in person is not an option.

UO Special Collections and University Archives
If you're interested in exploring the history of sports on our campus, check out UO's own Special Collections and University Archives in Knight Library.

Data and Statistics Sources

Google Advanced Search
Try doing a domain search for .gov to find government sources with information and data on athletics and sports from both federal and state sources.
Sports Marketing
This collection of market research reports focuses on various aspects of sports, providing tons of useful data on topics like sports media and specific professional sports leagues.

Sports business research network; SBRnet This link opens in a new window
Provides market research data and industry news including sports equipment sales, sports participation, consumer expenditures, sponsorship, sports facilities, and more for both professional and amateur athletics

NCAA Student-Athlete Experiences Data Archive
For those researching college sports, this archive offers some excellent data on student-athletes related to their academic success.
NCAA Record Books
NCAA's website offers a comprehensive listing of records by season for college sports in Divisions I, II, and III.

Sports Journalism and Research

Archival Sources

Data and Statistics Sources

Need Help?