Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

SPAN 344: Hispanic Cultures Through Literatures IV

A course guide for Spanish 344 at the University of Oregon

Step 3 - Finding Information

Green magnifying glass icon with checkmark inside from Noun ProjectFinding information requires a lot of skills that you may not be aware that you have or that you are developing. Use this page to learn strategies for HOW to find the most relevant information to meet your needs.

Use the sub-pages to learn WHERE to search for research on your topic or course theme.

Library Databases vs. Search Engines (Video Tutorial)

Watch this video from WHMS Library to understand the difference between library databases and search engines.

Boolean Searching (Infographic)

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.

Strategies for Narrowing your Search to get Better Results

Below are 4 top strategies to narrow your search:

  1. Use AND between keywords to find articles where two or more keywords appear together

Aspirin AND Children AND Reye's Syndrome = Venn Diagram showing overlap between all three terms indicating search results will include all three.

 

  1. Use the filters / limiters in the search interface to narrow your search results to a specific date range or resource type (format: book, journal article, news article, etc.)

LibrarySearch showing Aspirin AND Children AND "Reye's Syndrome" with filters for Resource type: Articles; Date: 2012-2022 and; Subject: Aspirin

  1. Add a Subject Term (found in a database's Index or Thesaurus) to your search to find results that are "tagged" with that term to indicate they are "about" that topic/idea. Tip: Use just 1 or 2 Subject Terms per search so you don't get too narrow too quickly and end up with too few results.

Screenshot of Academic Search Premier Database showing the location of the thesaurus or "Subject Terms" search interface 

After adding a Subject Term to your search, click "Search" and then combine with additional keywords using AND. Note where the Subject Term shows up in your results:

Screenshot of Search using the Subject term "Reye's syndrome" and where it appears in the results

  1. Choose a database that is limited to your major, subject, or discipline. Use the link below to find a research guide with database recommendations for your discipline!

About Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Infographic

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Infographic about Interlibrary Loan - Follow link for accessible text version

Thanks to IUPUI University Library for allowing reuse of this graphic under a Creative Commons license.
Text description of "Use Interlibrary Loan" for web accessibility

Before submitting an InterLibrary Loan request, an account must be made. This can be found on the UO Libraries website by clicking the "InterLibrary Loan" link and following the login prompts, or first time users can click here.

Once an account is made, books may be searched for and requested through LibrarySearch and WorldCat.

Please allow about 2 weeks for delivery of books and physical materials. An e-mail will be sent when print materials are ready for pick-up.

Most journal articles arrive in 24-48 hours and will be sent electronically.

 

More Help

Step 3: Pause to Reflect

Pause to Reflect

Did you find the information you needed? Will it help you answer your research question? If not, it might be time to reach out to a Subject Librarian for an appointment.

As researchers, we should approach the evidence we find with an open mind. Research should broaden or inform our perspectives, and not confirm our own biases. If your research is just a collection of cherry-picked quotes, you may need to go back to the library catalog (LibrarySearch) or the article databases to gather more information and other perspectives to consider. 

Cherrypicking

"kirschenpflücken 2006-06by Brigitte Rieser is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift