Research Guides: SPAN 312: El español en los medios de comunicación: Artículos y Bases de Datos

UO LibrarySearch - Find articles, books, and more

LibrarySearch offers a streamlined interface for finding books and other media that combines the collections of UO Libraries and Summit libraries.

Recommended Databases for the Course

General Multidisciplinary Database - Great Places to Start!

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

News Databases

Access world news This link opens in a new window Access World News Research Collection is a full-text news resource consisting over 11,000+ local, regional, national and international sources (6,800+ US and almost 4,200 international sources). This database includes access to many local Oregon new sources, including The Oregonian and the Register-Guard up to current day. Updated daily, it offers researchers and students valuable primary source information on today’s issues and events from newspapers, newswires, transcripts, video clips, web only, and blogs.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Articles, editorials, and reviews published in approximately 200 ethnic and minority newspapers, magazines and journals published in the U.S, dating back to the mid-1990s.
Searchable in both English and Spanish.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Literature & Culture Databases

Arts & Humanities citation index (A&HCI) This link opens in a new window Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, covering 1975-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities, covering 1975-present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Indexing and full text of academic journals in the fields of journalism, mass media, and communication. Some coverage of film, rhetoric and communication disorders.
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window Indexes journal and magazine titles for film and television reviews, scholarly and critical analysis of cinema and television, and articles of popular interest about film and television.
Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Fuente Académica This link opens in a new window Scholarly Spanish journals from Latin American, South American and Spain.
HAPI This link opens in a new window Selectively indexes journals in the social sciences and humanities, focussing on Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.
PRISMA database This link opens in a new window Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

Linguistics

Linguistics and language behavior abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Reviews over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations

Still not finding what you are looking for? Check out the Subject Guides for discipline-specific recommendations or contact your instructor or librarian for support!

All Subject Guides

A-Z Database List

If you know which database you want, use the dropdown menu above to choose it. If you want to browse the databases by subject, click on the link on the left and use the filters to explore our subscription databases!

Look at other Subject guides to see which databases the Subject Librarians recommend for that discipline/major.

Finding the Full Text of an Article in a Database

Get research articles at no cost to you!

Follow the steps shown in these screenshots to locate or request the full text of an article from a database like Academic Search Premier (EBSCO). Note: The process in ProQuest and other databases is the same.

You can use the limiter on the left sidebar to narrow to results that only include access to the full text, or just look for the results that include a PDF or HTML option.

This screen shot shows various options for getting the full text of this article through the UO Libraries' subscription to Academic Search Premier.

No PDF link?

If your article doesn't have a PDF or HTML full text, click the FindText button to check LibrarySearch for other copies. Download the article directly from LibrarySearch or from the other options listed under View It.

Still no full text pdf? Ask us to Scan & Deliver it to you!

When the full text is not available as a PDF (or HTML format) in a database, you still have options to get it at no cost to you (up to certain limits. See About Borrowing for more).

Click the Find Text button below the search result you want, and then look for the Check availability link.

Scan & Deliver is for requesting an electronic copy of an article or book section that the University of Oregon Libraries owns in physical format. In the screen capture above, this journal is at our Math Library.

Choose Interlibrary Loan to request physical items (books, DVDs) that we don't own within 1-3 weeks or electronic items (PDFs of journal or magazine articles) in 24-48 hours at no cost to you.

Questions?

Contact the Resource Sharing office at 541-346-3055 or ill@uoregon.edu.