Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
This enormous collection of African American newspapers contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and is rich with first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, including the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion. The collection also provides a great number of early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements all of which embody the African-American experience.
Please note: We also have hundreds of local Oregon Newspapers and other collections on Microfilm in Knight Library. So if you are looking for information about Oregon, please visit the Microfilm and Aerial Photography sections of Knight Library.
Final Note:
Many universities and organizations have digitized many items from their local Special Collections & Archives, and searching the open internet will often find these high quality collections. Try adding keywords to your search like "digital archive," or "university," to your searches to narrow your results down to these academic collections (and to get rid of some of the wacky results that the rest of the internet might give you.)
And don't forget - you can always ask for help! rigby@uoregon.edu - Miriam
1501 Kincaid Street
Eugene, OR 97403
P: 541-346-3053
F: 541-346-3485