Research Guides: SOC 445/545: Racism &amp; Anti-Racism (Sociology of Race and Ethnicity): Articles (Research Databases)

Sociological Article Databases

Best Bets

Sociological Abstracts
Research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Web of science core collection
Web of Science Core Collection (1965-present). Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

Additional Useful Databases

America: History & Life
Bibliographic database containing citations to articles on the history, culture and current affairs of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Social Science Premium Collection
Provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education.

HAPI
Selectively indexes journals in the social sciences and humanities, focussing on Central and South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
PRISMA database
Provides full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.
Bibliography of Indigenous peoples in North America
Citations to literature about native peoples of North America published from the sixteenth century to the present. Native North Americans include Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples (i.e. "Indians") of Alaska, Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica. All citations are to published materials: books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US and Canadian government documents.
LGBT+ source
Covers the world's literature regarding Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender and Transsexual issues.
Comprehensive coverage includes traditional academic, lifestyle, and regional publications, as well as non-periodical content such as non-fiction books, bibliographies and dissertations. Disciplines include athletics, health, law, sociology, family, religion, civil liberties, employment and entertainment.

Is your book or article from an Academic / Peer-reviewed source?

Ulrichsweb: global serials directory
Directory to journals, magazines, and more. Check here to see if your articles are published in peer-reviewed publications.

The American Association of University Presses
The American Association of University Presses website lists all of the University Presses within the United States and Canada who are members. Check here to find the names of Book Publishers who publish academic / scholarly books. (Note: this only lists publishers at universities. There are additional academic publishers not listed here, but it is a good place to start checking.)

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

rigby@uoregon.edu

541-346-7202

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, Dissertations, Ethnic Studies, Food Studies, Museum Studies, Open Access, Sociology