Research Guides: Travelers & Explorers in Special Collections: Travel accounts of Ireland

Related Guides

Western European History
by Kevin McDowell Last Updated Jan 16, 2025 36 views this year

Teaching with Primary Source Materials

Our collections exist to be used. When students work directly with primary source materials, historic photographs, and documents that are old or unique, they discover an excitement and passion not generated by textbooks.

Primary source documents can inspire, but they also teach about learning to verify sources, tracking down connections, finding evidence from content and from physical clues.

Schedule an Instruction Session with SCUA Please contact us at least three weeks in advance to schedule an instructional session by submitting a request via our Instruction Request Form. We will need your contact information, the proposed date and time of your class, the number of attendees, the subject of this visit, and general background about your class.

Travel Accounts in SCUA Collections

Herbert C. Thompson papers

Ax 067

Herbert C. Thompson, Diary of a trip to Europe, Aug. 7-Dec. 23, 1910. He spent Aug. 31-Sept. 1 in Ireland (Belfast and Dublin).

Lizzie N. Thompson, Diary of a trip to Europe, Aug. 3-Sept. 19, 1910. She spent Aug. 31-Sept. 1 in Ireland (Belfast and Dublin).

Beekman Family papers

Ax 10

Carrie Beekman, Diary of a European trip, 1895. She arrived in Queenstown on Sept. 5, 1895, and visited Cork, Glengariffe, Bantry, Killarney, Limerick, Cappoquin, Dublin, and Belfast. She left Belfast on Sept. 19, 1895.

Also contained in the Beekman Family papers are the following brochures:

Gaze's Tours Special Irish Programme. H. Gaze & Sons (Limited), Tourist Directors. Date stamped on cover: 2 Sep. 95.

Prince of Wales Route to Lakes of Killarney via Bantry, Glenariffe and Kenmare. 22 ed., 1895.

Ask An Archivist | SCUA

Preferred Citation Format for SCUA Materials

[Identification of item], Date (if known), Collection Title, Collection Number, Box and Folder number [or photo ID number], Special Collections & University Archives, University of Oregon Libraries, Eugene, Oregon.

Mission | Special Collections & University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives is the primary repository for the University of Oregon’s archives, rare books, historic photographs, and one of the largest historical manuscripts collections in the Pacific Northwest. Our mission is to acquire, preserve, and make available a clearly defined set of primary sources and rare books, reflecting the written, visual, and audio history and culture of Oregon, the Pacific Northwest, and selected aspects of American and world history. Our diverse collections support all types of research, from K–12 education to international scholarship. We strive to play an active and creative role in the teaching, research, and service missions of the University.

Historical Collection Strengths

Oregon history, politics, culture
Authors and illustrators of children’s books
The conservative and libertarian movement in the last half of the twentieth century
Popular literature, with an emphasis on Western fiction
Missionaries to foreign countries, especially in the Far East
Labor History
Journalism and Communications
Photographs of the Northwest, including the Major Lee Moorhouse and Angelus Studio collections
Environmental history
Northwest literature, including fiction by Ken Kesey, Damon Knight, Kate Wilhelm, Ursula K. Le Guin, Molly Gloss, and William Stafford
Doris Ulmann photograph archives of Appalachia
Utopian and intentional communities
Northwest architecture
Northwest economic history