Skip to Main Content
University of Oregon
UO Libraries

Book Collections in Special Collections & University Archives

This guide featires the Rare Books collection and Oregon Collection held by the University of Oregon Libraries Special Collections & University Archives

About the Oregon Collection

The Oregon Collection is a fully cataloged collection of published materials reflecting the history, literature, and life in Oregon and the Oregon Territory. Oregon Collection holdings are listed in the online catalog (search bar at top of page). Oregon Collection materials are maintained in closed stacks and do not circulate. These materials may be requested and viewed in the Special Collections reading room.

Oregon Collection call numbers are preceded by the location SCA OrColl in the library catalogs. You may limit author, title, and subject searches in the online catalog by selecting the Limit/Sort button (at the top of the screen) after performing your search. Then select Oregon Collection under Location. For Keyword searches, you may limit the location to Oregon Collection from the search screen.

The Oregon Collection Reference section includes city directories, telephone directories, and useful titles such as the Oregon Historical Quarterly, and the Oregon Blue Book.

Recent additions to the Oregon Collection are available within the Special Collections listings.

If you are researching Oregon history don't miss the Microforms collection (1st floor Knight), which includes the largest collection of Oregon newspapers in existence and many genealogical resources. Local newspapers are often the best source of contemporary information about communities: events, people, editorials and community viewpoints, fashion, and prices. The Oregon State Archives maintains very useful county histories and lists of critical resources. Other resources include:

Aerial Photograph Collection

(All non-OUS faculty, staff and students; or persons requesting aerial photographs for commercial use, use public request form) The Map & Aerial Photography Library has an extensive (over 700,000 prints) aerial photograph collection of Oregon. Due to size and complexity we cannot make aerial photographs available on a walk-in basis.

Oregon Collection new items

Loading ...
University of Oregon Libraries
1501 Kincaid Street Eugene, OR
97403-1299
T: (541) 346-3053
F: (541) 346-3485
Make a Gift