Research Guides: Saxophone: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias of Terms Related to the Saxophone

The following music dictionaries and encyclopedias provide entries on saxophone history, performance, and repertoire, as well as biographical entries about saxophonists. Entries may include images, musical examples, and bibliographies of scholarly sources for further reading.

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Music Online, Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .N48 2001
Publication Date: 2003
The 29-volume New Grove Dictionary is the standard starting point for music research. Entries are written by scholars and include extensive bibliographies, composers' works lists, and numerous images and musical examples. Content is also available online through Oxford Music Online.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML100 .H37 2003
Publication Date: 2003
The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2nd ed. by Laurence Libin (Editor-In-Chief); Anne Beetem Acker; Carolyn Bryant; J. Richard Haefer; James B. Kopp; Jeremy Montagu
Call Number: MUSIC REF ML102.I5 N48 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Newly revised and expanded into 5 volumes, features in-depth scholarly entries on musical instruments from all over the world, with images. Some of the new content is not yet available in Oxford Music Online.
The Cambridge Companion to the Saxophone by Richard Ingham
Call Number: ML975 .C36 1998
Publication Date: 1998
New music vocabulary: a guide to notational signs for contemporary music by Howard Risatti
Call Number: ML431 .R6
Publication Date: 1975

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

I currently work on campus on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and work remotely on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Fridays. I am available for in-person research consultations on Wednesdays and Thursdays, and for virtual consultations (via Zoom, Teams, or phone) on any weekday.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music