Research Guides: Russian, East European, and Eurasian Studies: General Resources in English

Free Access Resources

Digital Public Library of America
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Virtual Library Eastern Europe
ViFaOst is an interdisciplinary portal that offers the academic community a wide range of information on the field of East European Studies.
Europeana Collections
Thematic collections on art, fashion, music, photography and World War I contain galleries, blogs and exhibitions to inform and inspire.
International Institute of Social History
Conducts research and collects data on the global history of labor, workers, and labor relations. Includes collections of visual material that can be searched by country of origin, theme, or keyword.
Library of Congress Meeting of Frontiers
A bilingual, multimedia English-Russian digital library that tells the story of the American exploration and settlement of the West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.

Current Digest of the Russian Press, The
News digest presents a weekly selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English.
Stalin Digital Archive
Provides access to primary source materials from Stalin's personal papers and insightful monographs on communism.
Collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers North American scholarship on Eastern Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. It contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.

JSTOR
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.
Project Muse
Searches the full text of electronic journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts
Index to scholarly articles covering world history (with the exception of the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present
Academic Search Premier
Multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and selected full text for peer reviewed/scholarly articles, magazines, trade publications, and newspapers in all fields.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical materials for scholarship in literature, language, linguistics and folklore. Covers essay collections, dissertations, monographs and peer reviewed/scholarly journals.
PAIS Index
Indexes journal articles, books and book chapters, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories in the area of public affairs.
Topics covered include government, international relations, environment, political science, public administration and more.
CRL library catalog
CRL acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
These resources are then made available to member institutions cooperatively, through interlibrary loan and electronic delivery. The UO Libraries is a member of the Center for Research Libraries.