Research Guides: Percussion: Articles

Want materials (e.g., books, articles) that the library doesn't have? Use Interlibrary Loan!

Submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request if you need something that isn't available in the UO Libraries collection and we will try to get it for you.

Help with ILL

Journals & Databases for finding Percussion-Related Articles

Journals

The UO Libraries Music Collection subscribes to the following print journals related to percussion performance and research:

Percussionist. by Percussive Arts Society.
Call Number: ML1.P107
ISBN: 05536499
Publication Date: 1963 - 1980
Percussive notes. by Percussive Arts Society.
Call Number: ML1 .P108
Publication Date: v.8(1970)-v.52(2014) - present
Modern drummer : MD
Call Number: ML1035 .M6
Publication Date: v.4(1980)-v.38(2014) - present
Balungan : a publication of the American Gamelan Institute.
Call Number: MUSIC ML 1 .B34, and available online
Publication Date: v.1(1984)-v.11(2010) in print, 2010 - present, available online
Down Beat
Call Number: ML1 .D6
Publication Date: 1934-present
UO has v.21 (1954)-v.73 (2006) and v.75 (2008)-present
Jazz Educators Journal: Official Magazine of the National Association of Jazz Educators
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: 1980-2001
UO has v.13 (1980)-v.34(2001); as of v. 34, the title changed to Jazz Education Journal.
Jazz Education Journal by International Association for Jazz Education
Call Number: ML1 .N124
Publication Date: 2001-
UO has v.34 (2001)-v.40 (2007); previous volumes issued as Jazz Educators Journal
NACWPI Journal by National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors
Call Number: ML27.U5 N17
Publication Date: v.26(1977)-v.42(1994)
Woodwind world-brass & percussion. by National Flute Association (U.S.); Association of Concert Bands of America.
Call Number: ML1 .W6
Publication Date: v.14(1975)-v.20(1981)

Databases for Finding Articles & Dissertations

To find articles and dissertations related to percussion instruments, performance, and repertoire in other scholarly and trade publications, try searching in some of the following databases. Some of these provide full-text access to articles, while others provide only citation information and abstracts (summaries); you can use InterLibrary Loan (ILL) to request copies of articles that UO does not have. See the "Articles" tab in the main Music Research Guide for additional database suggestions.

Music Index This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to music periodicals and literature featuring digitized content from 1970 to present. This database contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. .
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-present) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of music literature providing broad international coverage of thousands of journals, books, dissertations, conference proceedings and Festscrhiften.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of peer reviewed/scholarly journals in all disciplines.

Music and Dance Librarian

Ann Shaffer

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: she/her/hers

During the 2024-2025 school year, I am offering virtual appointments Mondays through Fridays, and in-person appointments on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays.

541-346-1850

Subjects: Dance, Music